17 comments on “2012 Elections: Our Bold Predictions

  1. Hey Dre,
    First, I’m glad you put both our predictions side by side, it gives people a good comparative of our views. I must say, you’ve grown into quite a political pundit, after reading your points I almost wanted to change my predictions. (almost):) I believe the hurricane may hurt Obama more than help as over the next few days it will start to seem enough wasn’t done (it always does) and the disaster will keep people on the coast who are Obama supporters out of the polls. That wont change the E.C. but it may change the popular vote to the negative for Barack. As for your past prediction on the 2010 mid terms, I went back and checked.

    Your prediction was; I see Republicans picking up at least eight seats in the Senate and at least 40 seats in the House of Representatives.

    Mine was;.The House gains for the Reps may be as high as 55. I said the Senate would be a 9 or 10 seat gain for the Republicans

    Actual results were; Senate-Republicans gained 63 seats. House-Republicans gained 6 seats.

    You were closer on the Senate and I was closer on the House. Could another split decision be on the horizon? Stay tuned readers!! Good Luck Andre, see you on Wednesday for our post election analysis.

  2. Oops, the results were SENATE-republicans gained 6 seats and HOUSE -republicans gained 63 seats. I had the republicans running away with the senate by 63!
    lol.

  3. Nicely done, guys. I can TOTALLY see you two with your own version of Hannity and Colmes…except you guys would be fun to watch.

    • Thanks Megan!
      Can I be Hannity? Andre looks more like Colmes anyway, except for Alan being white, red headed and kind of scary skinny.

  4. Hey there guys. I found this site from another blog. Based on some of the previous posts, I’m liking what I see. I’ll definitely have to following this one.

    So, one quick question. Who do you guys think will win Maine (where I’m from)?

    • Thanks Martin,
      President Obama will win Maine easily. (I’m sure Andre will agree) Even with the 2% edge Romney will get over the polls he won’t be able to come close. I’ll say Obama in a 10% win.

  5. I’ve been watching CNN and Fox News since 6 this morning. None of their commentary/analysis was nearly as good as this post. I agree with Megan. You guys deserve your own show!

  6. Now that I think of it, I think the HC kinda called it too (not in this post, but in another one). It looks like Romney might take the popular vote, but not the Electoral College.

  7. Congratulations to all the Obama supporters! I’m still waiting on the final numbers for the House and Senate (which it looks like I was right on) but clearly I was wrong on the Presidential race. (Congrats Dre!) Obama took both the E.C. and the popular vote but by a far reduced majority (2%) from 2008 (8%), but better than I figured. I’ll let you know where I went wrong when more number come in. For now, enjoy your victory!

  8. Thanks all! I was correct on the Presidency and the House (sorta). But I was way off on the Senate race. I was sure Republicans were take back the Senate. I predicted all kinds of vetoing coming from Obama during his lame duck presidency. Shows what I know.:-/

  9. Congrats, America! You have chosen wisely. This keeps alive the possibility of change and making a difference instead of more run of the mill political leadership. I wish you well.

    • I think so too, LGS. I think Obama needs this next term to TRULY define who he is. If things don’t get any better, his critics would have been correct. If things DO get better, history will be significantly more kind to him.

      • Hey Dre,
        I hate to say this…but, no matter how he does the MSM will say it was wonderful. All the stats from employment numbers to GDP growth were portrayed as “slow, but moderate growth”, the same people were slamming Bush for far better numbers. I expect that to continue. If it all goes to hell, it’ll be no fault of his. This is Governor Granholm all over again. I’m sorry I’m so negative, I really hope I’m wrong, but I see no reason to believe anything will change. I predict a string of social issues brought up again and again and next to no growth.

  10. Dre, you should consider getting your own cable show…. you’re a heck of a lot accurate than some of the talking heads on tv…. except for maybe Nate Silver….

Leave a Reply

