40 comments on “47 Percent: Romney vs. The Moochers

  1. Hey Dre,
    I believe this was all timed to keep people from looking at the biggest story of the week…quantitative easing number 3, otherwise known as QE3. (http://www.investopedia.com/terms/q/quantitative-easing.asp#axzz26wXW0b2k) In short, our government buying near worthless mortgage bonds, inflated t-bills and municipal bonds from nearly bankrupt cities in order to fatten up the bank accounts of folks like Morgan Stanley in clandistine unaudited meetings (http://ciovaccocapital.com/videos/qe/qevideopartfive.html) . While the left-leaning media has been going ballistic over Romney’s comments, the Fed is back to shovelling 100’s of billions into the worst villains on Wall Street. Immediately after the Fed shovelled billions in the past two failed attempts to stimulate the economy (QE1 and QE2), Barack suddenly and mysterious became the recipient of millions of dollars into his campaign chest from the very same villains (http://www.opensecrets.org/pres12/bundlers.php.)

    But back to how Rich Mitt is the one backing the wealthy. As my dad used to say about the two parties, “The only difference is if you want to be lied to as your screwed, or told the truth.”

    Now let me address your enumerated Democrat talking points. (I’m not badmouthing you here Andre, it’s just that I’ve heard every one of these in the past few days)
    1) They may have had “payroll taxes” withheld, but that doesn’t mean they didn’t get them all back. Seriously, your trying to claim that taxes withheld and then given back in a refund is paid? The other forms of “payroll tax” are medicaid/medicare and Social Security. Those aren’t added to the Fed Budget and I thought Al Gore called S.S. an investment retirement account that is separate and in a “lockbox”, not a “tax”.
    2) Retirees are getting their “lockbox” money back, you don’t see a difference?
    3) I’m not sure why that is, I’ll let you know when I find out. For now, I’ll give you that one, probably a bad move on Mitt’s part.
    4) For the life of me I don’t understand how people can compare investment income, which you could lose, to earned income which is not at risk. If I invest and lose, but later invest and win, I get to deduct my losings from my winnings which reduces my tax liability (poor people can due the same if they win the lottery, for example) It’s not a fair comparison. I have to work for a living, but I don’t have to invest that money at all if I don’t want to.

    I do think it was a bad couple of weeks for Mitt, but I wouldn’t call a fraudulent Dem Convention vote (http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com/2012/09/05/convention-floor-chaos-democrats-alter-platform-disagree/?hpt=po_c2) the assasination of our ambassador in Lybia, the Arab Spring turning into a Arab Fire, Israel openly threatening Iran and excoriating the Obama administration a good couple of weeks for Democrats either. But I guess it depends on your media.

    • “For the life of me I don’t understand how people can compare investment income, which you could lose, to earned income which is not at risk. If I invest and lose, but later invest and win, I get to deduct my losings from my winnings which reduces my tax liability (poor people can due the same if they win the lottery, for example) It’s not a fair comparison.”

      You’re right it’s not a “fair comparison.”

      Earnings of the poor and the working poor are at risk as well: It’s called inflation. If I’m poor and I have lottery winnings in the millions, it’s good to know that I can offset that win with all the millions I’ve lost over a lifetime. Whoopie!

      Now if I’m an investor, my income is not only taxed differently, but I can also write off my losses when I do. Now that’s a win-win.

      • Hey Anonymous,
        If you can’t understand why you should be able to deduct losings from winnings, there is nothing I can do with you. Perhaps you think you should have to pay taxes on taxes too, after all, you can deduct those loses.

    • Mike, there is still a LONG time until November. A lot can happen in two months. So I’m not counting my chickens just yet. But between the nearly universally reviled comments immediately following the attack on the Libyan embassy and this epic screw up, I tend to agree. This guy just keeps putting nails in his own coffin. What his team of strategists is doing to curb his self-inflicted wounding is beyond me.

      Side note: I find it very ironic that conservative voters are the ones most notorious for railing against “freeloaders”, while being dependent on the government themselves.

    • Lol, sometimes Mike, it seems your arrogance has no limit. I remember vividly how far off you were in the 2010 elections. Sure, It looks good for President Obama right now and he may well win, but if he doesn’t, I’m sure your addled brain will begin cooking up conspiracies when your real problem is that you only listen to the prosecution and never hear the defense. Please, please, stay off off juries. I’m probably the least partisan person here and i don’t believe I’ve ever reached you for one second.

      • “I’m probably the least partisan person here and i don’t believe I’ve ever reached you for one second.”

        I’m glad you cleared that up: The smell of peanuts has been all over your comments.

      • Don’t get mad at me because your friend has committed political suicide. You can put up as many links as you want. That doesn’t change the fact that just about all fact checkers out there (including Fox Noise of all places) have debunked Flipping Mitt’s batshit crazy statements.

      • Just because I have a open mind, explore both sides and don’t make excuses when I can’t get results doesn’t make me a republican and it damn sure wouldn’t qualify me as a Democrat.

      • Well Mike,
        It’s obvious you don’t read any of the links I give you or you wouldn’t be so terminally misinformed. I won’t get mad at you because my “friend has committed political suicide.” and don’t get mad me for your self-imposed ignorance.

  2. Wow. This was the ultimate in arrogance and disrespect. Up until this point, I actually had respect for Romney. I was very interested in hearing what he had to say, since it’s true that Obama has had some time to turn things around, but I may have considered trying out a new candidate. But when I saw the video, my impression of him changed 100%. He has just shown himself to be somebody else. I really dislike it when people do this. It is calculated manipulation to convince somebody to do something they probably would not do if they knew the truth of who somebody was or what they wanted to do. This is exactly opposite of how I go about my life. Love me or hate me, I’m always the same person no matter where I am or who I’m with. I don’t really know how others will react to this and how it will influence their vote. I was thinking yesterday that it was probably the beginning of the end of his campaign, but then there is the desire to believe to factor in. All I can really say is that up until yesterday, I was willing to give Romney the benefit of the doubt and now I’m not.

    • “He has just shown himself to be somebody else. I really dislike it when people do this.”

      You’re just catching up or just catching on: Romney’s been a harlequin his whole public career–presenting first one side of himself and then the other, either in succession or all at once.

  3. Whine, whine, whine. More whining from the left. It’s sickening.

    Romney has my vote! The last really great President we all had was Ronald Reagan and we were lucky to have him. I know of no one who can say they are better off today than they were 4 years ago (and even if you are, your country is not). Romney provides an alternate option to voting for Obama and I believe we would all be pleasantly surprised to see how he begins to clean up the path of destruction that Obama has caused. Right now if you are making $7.50 an hour or more and are working anywhere even near forty hours a week than you need to consider yourself one of the lucky ones and stop complaining as much. There are so many people who don’t even have jobs or are underemployed or have stopped looking for jobs because the job search is too expensive and, it isn’t getting any better. The real unemployment figure is probably somewhere around 30% if you count the people who have stopped looking, etc. The press will never tell you that – yes, one out of every three people in many areas of our country. Everyone has family members, neighbors, and friends who are out of work and there aren’t any jobs to be had! I don’t care how much money Romney has – I’m glad he’s wealthy – then he won’t be spending my money on numerous lavish Christmas vacations in Hawaii (instead of Camp David like almost all the other past Presidents) and he won’t be sending his daughter and all her friends on an expensive Spring Break (in Mexico wasn’t it?)with all the Secret Service requirements in tow (our money too) and requiring only organic food to be served to his family every day! Knowing the condition our country is in and how many people are truly suffering I find him insensitive at best. Basically, I feel a rat that has 25% brain power and is on life support would do a better job as President than Obama and, if we vote for Obama again then WE are all toast. We are being criticized by the people from most all other foreign countries for having elected him in the first place – they call us stupid Americans and fools (stupido!) Let’s smarten up! Obama has had four years and everything is so much worse – let’s give Romney a try – he can’t be any worse and most probably will be a whole heck of a lot better and, he’s not hiding his birth certificate! I think you’ll find Romney to be a friend – not a foe. We all want the same thing – a good life, the ability to provide for ourselves and our families and we all deserve a country that is in good shape and one to be proud of! We used to be the leaders of the free world now we are just a big joke to the world! Let’s try to all get on the same page or else we just keep canceling each other out. If Romney is elected and you don’t like the job he does then vote for Obama again 4 years from now. I’m just saying we should give Romney a chance because anyone can do better than what Obama has done with his 4 years – we’ve all seen his work and it is truly unsatisfactory!

    • Hey Tru Patriot,
      I would have to disagree with you on one point. You said, “I know of no one who can say they are better off today than they were 4 years ago”, the people who are the 47% that Romney so inarticulately and inaccurately referred to are doing better. They are getting more food stamps, more help with their mortgages, free hand-outs of money in Detroit and other major cities, reduced credit card bills and better health care, all at the expense of people who pay their mortgages, pay their credit cards and go to work every day. It’s income redistribution that they are all for, but they just can’t come out and say it honestly. What they aren’t getting is jobs and a stable fiscal country that can last.

      • “They are getting more …. ”

        We can’t let that happen! Is there a Swiss Bank Account for the likes of us–for thousand-aires.?

      • Wow. You can only disagree on ONE point? The wingnuts are in full force today.

    • “he can’t be any worse and most probably will be a whole heck of a lot better and, he’s not hiding his birth certificate!”

      Reality isn’t optional but delusional is.

    • “Obama has had four years and everything is so much worse.”

      What’s “worse” is that in “four years” you’re no better informed than you were four years ago.

      “In the first year of President Barack Obama’s term, the country lost about 4.2 million private-sector jobs. But as of last month there are now more private-sector jobs in the United States than there were in January 2009, when President Obama took office. You read that right. Since bottoming out in early 2010, the country has added back 4.2 million private-sector jobs, and is now into positive territory for President Obama’s term.”

      http://www.americanprogress.org/issues/labor/news/2012/05/04/11617/private-sector-jobs-bounce-back-under-obama/

      • Hey Anonymous,
        Instead of quoting nuanced cherry picked “facts” pre-chewed by a Liberal source, why not go directly to Obama’s own agency, the Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/ and find the truth for yourself? Or are you afraid of what you may find? There could be hope for you if you don’t continue to have someone read the stats for you.

  4. My God, what ever happened to orginal thinking? Most of the reasons given here for not reelecting President Obama is Fox News certified or Rush Limbaugh approved.

    We have become a society of “ditto heads” and Fox News junkies.

    • Hey Anonymous,
      I can’t speak for everyone, but I drive for a living so I listen to a lot of media. I get up in the morning and turn on Fox, I then listen to NPR on my 30 minute drive to work, after that it’s Diane Reahm for two hours.
      Then it’s a local newspaper at lunch followed by Rush for 3 hours. It’s back to NPR on the ride home and then CNN until I have to take a break and watch something less intellectual. I research everything that is claimed by both sides and I can tell you 90% is spun hard or outright B.S.. To simply dismiss everyone that disagrees with you and call them “ditto heads” may be convenient, but I have to wonder if your political food is pre-chewed for you and where it comes from.

      • “I research everything that is claimed by both sides and I can tell you 90% is spun hard or outright B.S.”

        Your “research” paid off: That’s the best “spun” response I’ve heard in some time.

    • “I’m not even going to waste my time on this nonsensical post.”

      Great Idea!

      If after November Romney’s our new president, you’ll more time on your hand than hands.

  5. That Mitt…just keeps putting the nail on his own coffin. There’s not enough spin in the world to justify any of the comments that came out.

    With that being said, it doesn’t necessarily mean Obama has the election in the bag. There’s still plenty of time for some mud to be dug up or if unemployment numbers are looking even worse…there are too many factors that still may turn the tide.

    It’s not the first time a baffoon detached from reality has made it into office.

    • ‘It’s not the first time a baffoon detached from reality has made it into office.”

      With the nation already on life support, we can’t gamble with our future by turning it over to another “buffoon.”

  6. Great analysis, Andre. When Mitt said that, it sounded a bit fishy. That might’ve been the case a few years ago, but things have changed a bit since then. What he conveniently left out was that many of those people he railed against paid payroll taxes, those taxes taken out of a paycheck by an employer to fund programs such as Social Security and Medicare. They also pay federal excise taxes, such as those on gasoline, and they may also pay state and local income taxes or property taxes.

    Why people haven’t called him out on that is a mystery to me.

  7. Worst candidate in modern American history. Could still win though, that’s the scary thing. I thought Bush was toast in 2004. And yet…

    SMH.

    • “Worst candidate in modern American history.”

      And yet you have forgotten about the guy currently in office.

      • Really Josh? Obama is the worst? Is it because every metric of the employment – all of which were spiraling horribly out of control when he took office – have stabilized and been consistently improving?

        Is it because under his command, our armed forces took out some of the highest level operatives of Al Qaeda, including bin Laden?

        Is it because under his command, our armed forces helped topple multiple dictators in the Middle East….at virtually no cost (especially when compared with Iraq or Afghanistan) and with no need for an exit policy because we never occupied in the first place?

        Is it because the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan have been or are being wound down?

        Or maybe it’s just his ability to sing that makes you think he’s such a bad President.

        Just out of sheer curiosity, who would make up the rest of your “5 worst Presidents of all time” list? Who would you say is the best President of all time?

        I can understand thinking that Obama is good, mediocre, or bad. There are valid arguments to be made for each. But there’s no way he’s all that far outside the historical average either way, and when someone claims he’s the worst President in history, it makes me seriously question whether they’ve actually thought about it.

  8. Hey Mike,
    I think you found your long lost twin in Anonymous. Not a lucid point in all the statements both of you have made. Just flaming for the sake of showing what a bullying, name-calling mindless minion you can be. Why not skip the crap and debate the facts? Neither of you are fit to hold the keyboard while the decent people (who I have engaged respectfully here) debate me with honor, civility and intelligence. Why not just sit back and learn something instead of barfing up comments you got from Bill Maher or one of you hater sites? Afraid you may learn what a partisan hack you have become?

    • This : “I think you found your long lost twin in Anonymous. … showing what a bullying, name-calling mindless minion you can be.”

      And this: “sit back and learn something instead of barfing up comments.”

      And you follow up with this: “Neither of you are fit to hold the keyboard while the decent people (who I have engaged respectfully here) debate me with honor, civility and intelligence.”

      And you want us to do what? “sit back and learn something.”

      Here’s what you’ve shown: You’re not honorable. You’re not civil. You’re not intelligent–and you’re not “decent.”

      It’s a Republican ploy (Oh, I know you aren’t one) to project on the other that which they are, and you’re a master of that device.

      “Afraid you may learn what a partisan hack you have become?”

      More projection, from your lips to your ears of just who you really are, and perhaps have always been.

      And you call us “bullies,” “mindless,” “minions,” “disrespectful,” “uncivil,” “unintelligent,” and without “honor” and “decency”?

      If I were you, I’d take long, hard look at the “man in the mirror.” He’s trying to tell you something.

      • Hey Anonymous,
        For once your right, I stooped to Mike and your tactics, and for that I apologize. I get frustrated when I make points with links that are not extremists on either side and am met with name calling, stereotyping, mockery and stats quoted from far-left organizations. I also don’t care for both of your need to pigeon-hole me as a Republican just because I won’t goose-step to your ideology. Nonetheless, it doesn’t excuse my bad behavior and I don’t believe in justifying it by pointing my finger at someone else’s behavior. My apology stands.

    • “For once your right.”

      Actually, I’m right a lot, but rarely get credit for it. But that’s okay. I’m not mad.

      “I stooped to Mike and your tactics.”

      Had you done that, you wouldn’t have found a need to apologize.

      I re-read Mike’s statements as well as my own, we said nothing that was offensive (discounting Mike calling you a “troll” after reading your scathing attack)–nothing that was directed to anyone in particular, as I stand by my statement about the society we’ve become: “We have become a society of “ditto heads” and Fox News junkies.”

      “and for that I apologize.”

      And why do that? It doesn’t ring true, and is hollow at best, merely serving as a jumping off place for more hyperbole, inaccuracies, and further comments for which you should “apologize” once again: you say falsely that you’re “met with name calling, stereotyping, mockery.”

      “I also don’t care for both of your need to pigeon-hole me as a Republican just because I won’t goose-step to your ideology.”

      I don’t care about your “ideology,” and you don’t know a whit about mine. As far as pigeonholing you, if you vote republican, for that vote, you’re republican, regardless of whether you’re registered as a Republican, a Democrat or an Independent.

      “Nonetheless, it doesn’t excuse my bad behavior and I don’t believe in justifying it by pointing my finger at someone else’s behavior.”

      And that’s just it: You did point to “someone else’s behavior” before condemning your own.

      “My apology stands.”

      If it’s sincere, it “stands” on its own, regardless of how I might feel about the apology. In the final analysis, an “apology” benefits the one issuing the apology, and not the recipient.

  9. Hey anonymous,
    I was apologizing for being condescending like you and Mike. I don’t like seeing myself as someone who attacks people for their views, so I apologized for violating my own morality. I really don’t care how you feel about that. Intelligence isn’t something that is self defined, I stand with my record of predictions on this site over the past 5 years. We’ll see how you do, but Mike hasn’t been right yet that I’m aware of and most committed lefties or righties seldomn are.

    “I don’t care about your “ideology,” and you don’t know a whit about mine. As far as pigeonholing you, if you vote republican, for that vote, you’re republican, regardless of whether you’re registered as a Republican, a Democrat or an Independent.”

    Then why do they even list Independents? Aren’t they just temporary Reps or Dems? Thinking of things in such stark “us or them, with us or against us” mentality scares me. I’m an Independent thinker and voter, again, I don’t care that how you view that.

    “You did point to “someone else’s behavior” before condemning your own.”

    The difference is; I’m not using it to justify my behavior. It’s wrong when you and Mike do it, it’s wrong when I do it. See, that’s why I apologized, I can recognized bad behavior…..even when I do it. Excusing bad behavior is how committed partisans live and breathe, not me. Wrong when I do it, wrong when you do it.

    “In the final analysis, an “apology” benefits the one issuing the apology, and not the recipient.”

    Your right again, it shows I can admit my mistakes. A good trait that helps me learn.

    If your never wrong, how can you ever learn?

  10. Pingback: An Unspoken Reason Why Trump Won? | The Unmitigated Word

Leave a Reply

