15 comments on “Rape, Drunken Sex, and Personal Responsibility

  1. Well, if that makes you a caveman, then, I suppose that I am as well.

    Unfortunately, life is full of double standards that we will probably never resolve. I have to agree that the best solution, in this case, is to abstain from being in the company of inebriated women, or at the very least, part company when the subject of sex comes about.

    But “consents while drunk, has regrets later” – that is totally preposterous and off-the-wall.

    Can’t wait to see what the rest will respond. Peace.

  2. Let me get this straight: in your state, if a guy and a girl are equally drunk, have sex, and the woman later regrets it, the man can be arrested for rape? Are you serious?!?! I tell you, some women are a lot like teenagers – they scream for equality and freedom, but don’t want the responsibilities that comes with it.

    Is it up to the man to be sober enough to get a YES, or up to the woman to stay sober enough to say NO?? I can see it being different when the man is sober, but not when both are two sheets to the wind.

    Maybe we should make it double rape, and BOTH serve time. That would REALLY stop girls from getting too drunk.

  3. I’m glad I don’t live in Michigan. These laws you’re talking about are purely anti-male in nature. If these laws are not ammended, I can see countless honest and decent men finding themselves at the mercy of woman and potentially getting into life-altering legal trouble. The Republicans were right in trying to redefine rape as a “forcible” action.

  4. Okay, so what happens if both get drunk, have sex and when the guy sobers up, he regrets it?

    I know I am being a bit absurd but I think it illustrates the inequality of the law. There probably should be a law against being so drunk that they make stupid decisions.

  5. Hey Dre,
    “I need somebody to explain that to me, ‘cuz quite frankly, I’m not seeing it. From my end, the standards applied to men, drunkeness, and sex should also apply to women.”

    This is going to be laughingly easy using the logic I have seen here dozens, if not hundreds of times.

    Allow me, if you will, to become a Liberal.

    Women in this country have been mistreated since the very conception of this country. They were not allowed to vote-even after black men were. They were allowed to be raped by their husbands for the whole first half of this countries history. They have been treated like second-class citizens by men in property rights, divorce, jobs and the justice system. Now, when men finally get to see what it’s like to be on the losing end, you want to cry, “foul!” after thousands, even millions of years of oppression. Typical right-wing thought, I punch you then say we’re even. If women get any edge at all, they paid for it with blood and treasure throughout your chauvinistic history. Who cares if it’s unfair, immoral, or just plain wrong. It’s called getting even.

    How did I do?

    • HipCon,

      Women have been historically victimized. I get that. So have blacks and other social minorities. But my question of personal responsibility still lingers here. Can we use history as a license for social minorities to engage in destructive behavior while ALSO being exempt from any kind of consequences? If that’s the case, I plan to rob ever single white person I see and blame it on years of racism black people had to endure.

    • You know what? I think I may have misread your comment. Were you being sarcastic?🙂

  6. Call me an insenstive prick, but once at a party a girl who was drunk still managed to make pretty solid moves at me. If wasn’t an example of verbal consent, I don’t know what was.

    Is it immoral to take advantage of her like that? Absolutely! Is it rape? NO. Rape is forced penetration. FORCED penetration. If a drunk girl is consenting and letting you engage (even if her judgment is impaired) then it’s technically NOT rape. Basically, drunk or not if she says no, it’s rape. If she says yes, then it shouldn’t be considered rape! Impairment of judgment shouldn’t be an excuse for people acting like fools. You know what alcohol does, or at least you should know. Do you agree with this logic?

    This is whole drunk sex=rape is just used as a scapegoat for women (or anyone else for that matter) to excuse their irresponsible actions without suffering the consequences. Is she gonna regret it the next morning with a bad hangover? More than likely but that’s HER fault for putting herself in that situation.

    Just remember: Forced penetration (drunk or sober) is rape. Consenting penetration (drunk or sober) is NOT RAPE.

  7. Pingback: DUI-ronic « The Unmitigated Word

  8. You’re not serious with this post, are you? You seem like a pretty sensible person. Surely you can’t believe such nonsense.

  9. I don’t think it’s fair to put all the responsibility on the man. This would make women not accountable for their own actions. Women are not children and should be able to make their own decisions. I think rape should be forced penetration. If a man and women were both drunk and have sex it’s unfair for the man to spend years in jail for one foolish night.

  10. This has happened to me. I really feel has though I was raped. I blackedout and do not rememer anything. The man who was also drunk says I started everything. I know I would never do such a thing knowing I do not and never wanted to have sex. He says it was drunk sex and I still feel like I was raped. I am responsible for my actions. I should have never gotten that drunk. However, I believe he knew I would get that drunk since every time we drink together I get so drunk I pass out, blackout, or both. I believe when I started passing out he took my clothes off and had sex with me. Now like I said I am responsibile for my actions of drinking too much. I really have no memory of this night. So it is possible he is telling me the truth. So there is nothing I can do about this. I feel like I was raped and I have to live with it. He gets to go on with his life like nothing has changed.

  11. If a man is also drunk he can use that as an accuse for rape! Not all men, but rapist! There is more detail to my situation but it really doesn’t matter at this point. If you’ve never been raped you dont know what I’m going through. Words can’t describe it…Be careful when you drink EVERYONE! I wish I was careful

Leave a Reply

