10 comments on “After Tuscon

  1. Hey Dre,
    Rush Limbaugh (not one of my favorite people) ran a clip of all the people wishing him dead. Included were several Senators, House reps (all Dems) and comedians Bill Maher and Wanda Sykes. The idea that civility is the soul realm of the left is absolutely laughable. How many “jokes” have you heard about Cheney’s heart? Remember the pics you ran of Bush being burned in effigy and hanged? (For those reading: Andre DID NOT advocate that kind of behavior)It’s a problem on both sides. Having said that, why is it we hear virtually nothing about the Arizona Federal Judge John Roll who was killed, not wounded??? Is that because he was a Bush Appointee who was an opponent of abortion? Do those people deserve to die? He was threatened by hundreds of “civil” callers to Arizona talk shows (http://www.azcentral.com/arizonarepublic/news/articles/2009/07/09/20090709threats0709.html)

    • Hey Dre,
      Let me add a summary point. I think the biggest problem we have is that we dehumanize, hate, and justify way too much. Just because we disagree with someone, or have an argument with them, is not reason enough to threaten them, or incite violence against them. We’re now a culture where people feal justified hating someone over nothing. I partially blame our media that is way too quick to paint every issue as a threat to our families, our livelyhood, our freedom, or our lives.

  2. I think Mr. Herbert is correct both in taking a more macro view and in identifying the availability of guns and glorification of violence as the main reasons for both murder and murder by guns. While I agree that dealing with poverty and mental illness are important, these are secondary to the fact that society as a whole is more violent. Mental illness is present in other countries too but there are still fewer cases of mental illness related violence than the US and even less involving guns.

    I read somewhere that 85% of the world’s serial killers are from America. Why is that? Because violence is somehow seen more as a means to react to problems and impulses and the means for violence is more readily available.

    I hope America can reverse this violent trend.

    • Hey LGS,
      While I disagree with you on the “availability of guns” issue, (we’ve always had guns throughout our history, why is the problem only recently?) I do agree with you on the “glorification of violence” part. I’m rather old and I went to the most violent school in Flint: Emerson Jr. High during the riots). I personally witnessed gang violence, rapes, and beatings (several of which I got to enjoy) . There were way too many knives, but I never saw a single gun in the school. Guns weren’t viewed as a solution by anyone. Even though I had a gun of my own at a very early age (a 410), the thought of shooting anyone for the horrible way I was treated by a small fraction never crossed my mind. I viewed it, (and still do) as a coward’s way.

  3. Another great post Dre. This falls in line with the point of yours I supported about not making the shooting political, about gun ownership, or a bunch of other things. Instead, this should be about what CAUSES these events. I think mental illness SHOULD be at the forefront of the conversation. How many more people have to die for the issue to even come into play?

    • Hey KC,
      Another great point by you. If we keep ignoring these people, it’s going to come back around. the problem is twofold; first, it’s not taken as seriously as it should be, and secondly, it’s very expensive at a time when we’re running low on cash.

    • I have my theories as to why mental health is never brought into question. I think people tend to avoid the conversation thinking that even raising the issue criticizes and marginalizes those who are different. Political correctness has trumped everything in a time when perhaps it shouldn’t.

      • On that point, we can definitely agree. When criticized and brought to attention mentally ill people feel like lesser people. It encourages people to be in the closet when being able to get help from friends, when one is suffering, is very important. Stigma’s worst effect is that it deters people from accepting their illness and agreeing to treatment. If mentally ill people didn’t have the added burden of stigma, maybe more of them would seek treatment. And then tragedies like the one in Tucson would be less likely to happen.

  4. Has anyone considered that denying people guns due to mental illness may cause them to not seek help? Couldn’t that be even worse? I love hunting and “cling” to my guns. If I were to believe that seeking help would cause me to lose my gun rights, I wouldn’t go. I know I’m not alone because this conversation came up on my radio show with some gun rights advocates. All the callers and comments backed that theory up.

Leave a Reply

