14 comments on “Body Scans and Profiling: Effective or Violating?

  1. I must say, I’m very shocked to read this. It sounds like you’re allowing your fear to seduce you more and more into joining the Dark Side. There should be no doubt in anybody’s mind that this whole body scan is going a bit too far. Would I trade a bit of my privacy for an increase (arguably) in safety? Not a chance!!! A concession here, a concession there. Before you know it, all of our personal liberties are gone. And for what? Be careful, Andre: you give them too many of your liberties and pretty soon you’ll have nothing left to give.

  2. What I don’t understand is why this conversation always seems to starts and ends with airport security? How about when you go to a theater or a mall or even a cruise ship or a school? Terrorist attacks could happen anywhere. If people are so concerned about plane safety what about safety everywhere?

    • I agree with your point, Ellena. Terrorist attacks can occur at any time and in any place. But I think one of the primary reasons why federal authorities place such a high premium on air traffic is because when planes are hijacked, they become a weapon themselves. 9/11 provided a perfect example of that. I’m pretty certain that if an attack with similar results happened in some public place, you’d see similar preventative security measures taking place in those environments as well.

  3. Mike :Would I trade a bit of my privacy for an increase (arguably) in safety? Not a chance!!!

    Good luck with that. Civil liberties become a moot point when you’re on a plane sitting next to that one dude with explosives tucked in his drawers.

  4. I’d rather have to go through a scanner than have to take down a terrorist. Simple.As.That.

  5. Our Founding Fathers said it best: “They who would trade liberty for security soon have none and deserve neither.”

    • No offense, dude. But they also declared that black folks should only be considered three-fifths of a person. They’re never wrong, right?

      • *they’re. Why do I have such a problem with “their” “they’re” and “there”???? Lol.

    • @GMG,
      As a huge fan of Ben Franklin, I can’t let your paraphasing pass. The proper quote as written by Franklin is, “They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither safety nor liberty.” Still, I get your point.

  6. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a right’s buff myself. I think our rights should always be secured. But flying airplanes isn’t a right. So if the cost of travel includes a five second peek under my clothes I will pay it. But it won’t be long before the terrorists swallow the bombs or insert them in a place where the scanner can’t see. I’m sorry to say it but profiling and backgound checks as a part of buying a ticket are not far off. When the government has to balance our desire for privicy with the need for safety, safety wins.

    I can’t stand the security lines because of all the whining about the inconveniences. The solution to the complainers is trains, buses, and cars. Stand up for your rights and stay home!

    Latin America and Central America are the same place.

  7. Hey Dre,
    Great post and thoughts. I’m always struck by the fact that people are murdered in prisons. There is still rape, assualt, drugs and every manner of crime even though the people in it are deprived of nearly all their rights. It’s a constant battle between your rights and security. That’s why we should be very careful how many rights we give away and very concerned about whether we can, or will, ever get them back. Remember, your never really “safe”.

  8. PC has gone too far. If it’s between staying relatively safe and offending somebody, the hell with their feelings. Just my opinion.

  9. I went through my first body scan in San Diego. Would have felt better about the process if I had been wearing my body scan underwear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

