11 comments on “Badu’s Naked Truth

  1. That’s where I’ve gotta disagree, Dre. Erykah Badu hasn’t been a name since Baduism. In fact, my money’s on the fact that she did this video as a publicity stunt. She’ll be out of the limelight again in a month.

  2. *yawn*

    I agree with Tomcat. EB has lost a major step or two and this is just some lame publicity stunt to draw up buzz for her newest lackluster album. Mission accomplished, I guess. LOL! If she wanted to express a certain message, just do it. Leave all the sensationalist crap alone.

  3. I was thinking the EXACT same thing. She captured an even larger audience with this stunt and now will reap the monetary rewards.

    • Precisely my point. This was the first news story on our local 10:00 news on Monday night. Can’t make this ish up. Now, my 85 year old grandmother is asking me about Erykah Badu. FML.

  4. I LOVE this video. It’s very deep and poignant.

    On a deeper level, I think it represents the assault and the assassination of the black female (not just as a sexualized being, but as a socially marginalized being). She probably didn’t need to get all naked to get that point across, but I’m feeling this video. In some people’s small thinking, there is no amount of decency black women can practice without being defined by negative stereotypes. So EB took that thinking head on. clothing that would recover her body from these stereotypes. Can’t be mad at her.

    • Kenya, I appreciate your points and I certainly can’t argue agaist it. But I just don’t see a pro-female message being projected her. The message got lost with her bra. 🙂 Seriously, we can only speculate what she was trying to do because it all seems jumbled and limited in its scope. Of course that’s just my opinion.

    • I’ll say. I’m actually surprised by that. I tend to think that people are offended more by male nudity, given how it’s often associated with social perversity of some kind. Female nudity on the other hand is usually seen as artistic or objectified sexuality.

  5. * It was a publicity stunt
    * I woulda been mad as all hell had I been out there with my child (or a child) and she pulled that stunt.

    Did I mention that it was a publicity stunt?

  6. “I guarantee that if Britney Spears, Miley Cirus, or – yes, Beyonce – pulled this mess, it would have been the final nail in the coffin for their public image as overly sexual people. Public nakedness from sexualized personalities = vaccuous. Public nakedness from neo-soul types who wear headwraps and African attire = deep.”

    —-> ha! ha!

    of course it’s a publicity stunt, but that’s what music videos are for in general.

    I don’t really understand the “political” or “social” message she was trying send, but I do agree with Andre that her status (super famous or not) as a neo-soul/artsy time mitigates some of the negative backlash that could have come from this video had she been a pop star.

    with that said, the song is nice, and the video spoofs are pretty funny… eh.

Leave a Reply

