6 comments on “Role Reversal

  1. These acts of violence aren’t taking place in a vacuum. They’re the results of a value system–a belief, or a set of beliefs.

    We look to parents, the church family, and the school to inculcate values acceptable to society. Where these kids are concerned, one or all of these institutions have failed in their mission, and have allowed the values of the street to hold sway.

    The Juvenile Justice System can dole out punishment, and, when incarceration becomes necessary, provide some rehabilitation. But this is tantamount to closing the barn door after the animals have escaped.

    If we don’t set us some means to identify children at risk early on, but allow them to become subjected to anti-social values without intervention, then we double, and triple the effort necessary to rescue, and rehabilitate them.

    • Hey BTM,
      Just wanted to say, I couldn’t agree more. The destruction of the nuclear family, the embrace of non-judgmental relativism, the rejection of Judeo-Christian values (No, I’m not Christian) and the refusal, by all of us, to accept our responsibility and accountability to each other has left our children rudderless. This isn’t unique to any one culture. I especially liked your statement (and no, I’m not just sucking up. We’ll have new disagreements later), “But this is tantamount to closing the barn door after the animals have escaped.” If our kids believe they can get away with anything all their lives and then one day find out that society has limits, is that really their fault? Or ours as parents and fellow citizens? Great point!

  2. W/ the majority of juvenile crimes being committed by those w/ undiagnosed learning disabilities and/or undiagnosed psychiatric disorders, I believe that it is imperative to treat the root cause (the illness) rather than the symptom (i.e. the criminal act). I’m w/ BTM in the sense that the American prison system isn’t the answer, & w/ ~80% of the prison population having one psychiatric disorder or another, I’d further suggest that using it as such is actually detrimental to whatever lackluster rehabilitation effort may exist in these various systems, thus putting society further @ risk should/when some of these people be released. I hardly have the answer, & many of the alternatives I’ve seen proposed are hardly realistic, but most of the current system is set-up in fashion that is, in my eyes, headed in the wrong direction.

    This reminds me of the now-infamous “Soulja Girl” video that you posted waaaaaay back. That girl, as it turns out, was subsequently diagnosed w/ both schizophrenia & bipolar d/o.

    -n

    • Hey Nic,
      If someone acts out against society’s rules, aren’t they automatically socio-paths? My point is; The majority of Americans have some psychiatric disorder. (according to the APA, roughly 180 million Americans) Anti-depression drugs are some of the most prescribed drugs in the U.S., second only to statins. I’m worried that attaching a condition to them just justifies their actions. (I.E. “It’s not my fault, I’m mentally ill.”) I understand that there are some truly mentally ill people, don’t get me wrong. I’m just concerned that our low threshold of what is a “psychiatric disorder” will only result in even more people using that excuse to validate their unwillingness to control themselves, thus resulting in even more crime. Is that a good idea?

    • @ HipCon: “I’m worried that attaching a condition to them just justifies their actions.

      My sentiments are exact. At a time, I thought the best friend to a criminal was his defense attorney. Now, I’m not so sure. I’m gradually starting to think the most valuable player in a courtroom is the psychiatrist. Chalking up deviant behavior to some kind of mental illness – while valid at times – is becoming a sure fire way to beat a charge.

      The tight leather glove defense is so ’94.

  3. Hey Dre,
    As you know, my mantra is; “All evil needs to prosper, is for good people to do nothing.” What a classic example you’ve made here. When I watched this video, all I could think of was, “Why isn’t ANYONE stopping this.” In hindsight, we see that the girl was no angel herself, but I saw a far bigger failing all around her. I’ll probably be killed one day doing “the right thing”, but I’ll die standing for a principle that’s bigger than me. As long as we continue to tolerate this kind of behavior, we’ll continue to suffer it.

Leave a Reply

