17 comments on “Black to the Future

  1. Andre,

    The minute I heard about this story, I expected the right to come out locked and loaded. But I would have never imagined such stinging retort coming from you, dude. If you recall, Sen. Reid has been on Obama’s side going all the way back to when Obama first joined the Senate. As a matter of fact, because of the work Obama did in the Senate, Reid was one of the people pushing hardest for him to run.

    I don’t see how making an honest assessment about America is bad. I concede to the “negro” comment, but everything else was on the money. As I said, I expected this coming from the right. But from you? Reid used poor judgement in his word choice, no doubt. But his years of support for Obama outweigh a bad comment. Or at least they SHOULD. THAT’S the difference between Reid and those meatheads on the right.

    • Mike, ask yourself a simple and honest question: If Reid was a Republican, would you be so forgiving?

      • If Reid the Republican had the same history of supporting Obama as Reid the Democrat, yes I would. My point is: it’s not just what people say, it’s what they do. Even you pointed that out.

  2. The reason that society is incapable of addressing the racial issue is because we view it from the wrong perspective. We talk all around the fundamental, underlying reasons for racism, and make it an emotional issue. How does one expect to cure the cancer without focusing on the cancerous cells? Focusing on the symptoms is an ineffective mechanism to employ. Racism serves a far more complex pragmatic function than we are generally willing to acknowledge.

  3. I get the idea that it’s hard to keep up with all the names for black folks. But Negro is a real head-scratcher. I’m just waiting for Trent Lott to call Obama “a smart Nigra.”

    • Josh, just because black people may be able to make certain remarks about each other, doesn’t mean people from other races are allowed to.

  4. Can’t blame Reid for anything. He was just saying what we all know. He was just a clumsy dipshit with his.

  5. At the very least, Sen. Reid demonstrated racial insensitivity. I don’t care what kind of “context” he made those comments in, Democrats should be held to the same standard as Republicans when it comes to matters of race, gender, etc. Had a leading Republican said something like this, we would have been calling for heads. In a way, I think people should be able to say whatever is on their minds. Honesty is a good way to start the dialogue. But again, the same standards should be applied all across the board.

  6. Will somebody PLEASE tell me how John Cornyn and Michael “Honest Injun” Steele have become the spokespeople for what’s racist and what’s not? I’m sorry, but invoking Trent Lott and his racist supporting self into the conversation is nonsensical. Comparing Trent Lott’s consistent endorsement of a segregationist and Harry Reid’s comments is like comparing the North to the South.

  7. Listening to some of the morons from the GOP, all I could think to myself was “Negro, please!”

  8. For the life of me, I can’t understand why people just don’t get a VERY simple concept when examining race: there is a difference between racism based on ignorance and racism based on hatred and contemptment. Harry Reid’s statements = racism based on ignorance. Trent Lott/Strom Thurmond’s statements = racism based on hatred. To compare the two is obsurd!

  9. Hey Dre,
    Another great piece! As you know, I’ve made an issue of the whole “shades of black” thinking in the past, especially when it comes to black women. Every since I was in Emerson Jr. High, I’ve been particularly fascinated by the way black people view themselves and others in shades. I have to pat myself on the back for this one-I don’t believe that I have ever viewed (completely honestly) any black people as being any different based on their hue. But I have noticed that other people do. Lighter skinned blacks are viewed as better looking, smarter, less violent-even by other black people! A lot of white people also share this thinking. I had a very good friend in high school that was a “J.B. (Jet Black)”. He liked hanging with me, (he said) because I didn’t look down on him because of his darkness. I was baffled by the notion that I would even consider it. I can’t say with all honesty that I viewed him at that time as “the same as white” (it was the ’70’s, and I wasn’t aware of my own prejudice), but I definately didn’t view him as any different than other black people. As far as Reid goes, I think we all react a little too harshly on the issue as a whole. Yes, it is stupid and offensive, but I defy anyone to stand in all honesty and say that they haven’t been both at some time in their life. It was wrong to force Trent Lott out, (IMO) and it would be wrong to force Reid out (as much as I dislike him). I’m glad to see the issue of double standards brought up by the right, I’ve noticed and complained about it many times myself. The fact is; there is always an excuse for why people think bad behavior is only wrong by the other side. Justifying something doesn’t make it right. I.E. I rape your sister because you raped mine. Yes, it’s justified, yes, I could even say you started it. But, it’s hard to escape the fact that we are both rapists and wrong. The argument that Strom Thurmond’s statement was soooo much worse implies that we can see into his heart and Reids. The fact is, nobody really knows. Reid should be admonished for his stupidity and if the voters of Nevada think that this is another reason to vote him out-then so be it. But that should be it.

    P.S. How did you feel about Bill Clinton’s statement on Obama that, “A few years ago, this guy would have been getting us coffee,”?

  10. thehc :
    P.S. How did you feel about Bill Clinton’s statement on Obama that, “A few years ago, this guy would have been getting us coffee,”?

    Great point @ Cynthia and thehc. If Republicans REALLY want to espouse the double standard thing, why are they using Harry Reid – an Obama supporter, and not Bill Clinton who has been decidedly against Obama since day one? When it comes to Republicans and identifying racism, they just don’t have a clue.

    • Hi Tera,
      I’ll take a shot at answering that for you. They want to force Harry out as a payback for what happened to Trent Lott. There isn’t much that they can do to Clinton, but they throw it out as a sidebar to help bring his legacy down (even further).

Leave a Reply

