17 comments on “The War on Drugs…Regionally

  1. Getting more response for overdosing is a pretty dubious honor, Andre. But your point is well taken. In the media and with police, white people make better victims, I guess.

  2. I grew up in East LA. If a bunch of Latinos overdosed, the cops would’ve probably come in with enough crack to finish the rest of us off. Megan, you’re right: white people do make better victims…at least when it comes to other people trying to fix a problem.

  3. This seriously raises some concerns to me. Are crimes against youth only worth the investigation when they involve middle to upper class white kids? Is this the message law enforcement wants to convey to people? Only certain classes deserve protection?

    I applaud the effort to crack down. But let’s not simply look into matters when it effects SOME kind of people.

    • Joanne :This seriously raises some concerns to me. Are crimes against youth only worth the investigation when they involve middle to upper class white kids?

      Ummm, apparently.

  4. I’m curious to see how arrests and sentencings will go if the drug dealers and distributors are of certain races.

  5. Outside of the clear racial implications here, I think another important lesson can be taken out of this story. Parents can no longer simply think this kind of thing happens to other people’s kids. Most of these kids were not sniffing cocaine or shooting up heroin. They were taking prescription drugs. If you think addicts are just the poor people in alleys with marks all over their arms, think again. They’re also the ones wearing the crisp Oxford shirts and designer skirts.

  6. I wonder if Northern Virginia suburban teens were the group Nancy Reagan was thinking about when she started that “Just Say No” crap. My bet’s no.

  7. Andre, where did it mention that these kids were white? You know they were white from a different article with pictures or mention of their race? Was it their names? Maybe where they lived? This article didn’t mention race. I searched both “white” and “Caucasian” The author’s name was White, that’s all I found. If all you did was read this article then you JUMPED to the white conclusion. I’m not saying they aren’t white. Probably are, but these too are assumptions.

    Tera, you are wrong according to the article. She was using HEROIN. “Weakley was buying drugs from several sources, friends and family members said, including pills from friends in the Manassas area and HEROIN from a woman in the District whom she would meet at a McDonald’s near Gallaudet University. She kept her stash, needles and a bent spoon in a small purse in her room.”

    Sometimes it is hard to see through the veil we have in our minds, even when we read clearly. I’m guilty of it too, so I’m not casting stones. Our bias causes trouble, even when we wished it didn’t. How much trouble do you think it causes when someone wants it to be there?

  8. Hey Dre,
    I don’t get why this is always about race. Do you really expect me to believe that if one of Barack’s kid’s O.D.ed there wouldn’t be a huge investigation? What if were Oprah? Am I supposed to believe the police and press would just say, “Hell, it’s just a black woman, let’s forget about it?” If it’s a black school administrator-investigation. If it’s a black (or white or brown) inner city kid-no investigation. It’s as simple as that. I could show you a story (a white friend of mine) who was stabbed to death by two black guys on his front lawn, in the middle of the day, with several witnesses who provided descriptions and even a partial license plate and it took the family hiring a P.I. to get the police to even arrest them. It’s rarely about race, it’s about money, family, position and power.

    • @ HipCon: Sometimes the proof is in the pudding. I suppose my mind will be changed the next time I hear about a couple of black teens overdosing…with a massive drug sting ensuing.

      • Hey Dre,
        If you want an investigation triggered by POOR black kids, I can’t give it to you. But well-off ones, that’s easy. How about the nearly $1 million spent investigating Micheal Jackson’s death? Why didn’t we ignore that? Can you give me an example of POOR white kids in the inner city triggering a large scale investigation? Meanwhile, here’s a story about Detroit police TARGETING white suburban kids coming to Detroit to buy drugs. (http://detnews.com/article/20091205/METRO01/912050328/Drug-bust-targets-Detroit-bus-line) Why not go after the mostly black dealers? Racism??? Black cops targeting white kids while ignoring black ones and admitting it? Is that proof of racism against whites by Detroit? Exampling only proves something happened once. If you want to hyper-extend it to prove your point, I dont think that’s very much “proof in the pudding”.

      • HipCon,

        Stories like these are never solely about race. No doubt, affluence and status also come into play…though I’m not so quick to compare two North Virginia young adults to the Obama girls and Michael Jackson in terms of social relevance.

        But a greater part of me sees with my own two eyes the injection of race that is pretty apparent to me. Was the drug problem only worthy of a massive crackdown when white people are the victims? Are missing people only a priority if they have a fair look, a pretty face, and white skin?

        Thanks for dropping the Detroit link in your comment. To address it: I’d like to get to a day where racial profiling is no longer a common practice. But instead of that fictional reality, the only legitimate way I can see neutralizing racial profiling is to flip it for whites as well. That said, a large part of me thought it was refreshing that white suburban kids were FINALLY being targeted. Often times, they’re just much of an offender as black folks. But because they look a certain way, are related to certain people, go to certain schools, and live in certain neighborhoods, their criminality (or potential to be criminals) is vastly ignored.

  9. Bheithir :Andre, where did it mention that these kids were white? You know they were white from a different article with pictures or mention of their race? Was it their names? Maybe where they lived? This article didn’t mention race. I searched both “white” and “Caucasian” The author’s name was White, that’s all I found. If all you did was read this article then you JUMPED to the white conclusion. I’m not saying they aren’t white. Probably are, but these too are assumptions.

    Check…and…double check.

  10. Hey Dre,
    Merry Christmas and a happy New Year! I hope you have the best Holiday season ever. All my best to you and your family. I’ll see you in 2010!

Leave a Reply

