9 comments on “Here’s the Church, Here’s the Steeple

  1. I used to always think church wasn’t an event. But when they started passing around the tray collecting cover fees, I had a change of mind.

    In all seriousness, great post Dre.

  2. Hello. This is my first time visiting this blog and it was quite a hard-hitting reception! I LOVED this post. This post reminds me that I need to be serving much more than I am in my own church. Thank you! Also, I love the part about it not being a routine. I soooo wish more christians would gather more in God’s name than outside of church. I have tried to organize folks to no avail! I would love the opportunity to attend a gathering of christians any day of the week. Maybe I will pray that God would open that door for me to get the ball rolling!

    Thanks for this great post. If you don’t mind, I would like to print a copy of this for my Sunday School class.

  3. You did make some good points and I did enjoy your post but I do disagree with the statement: “But I don’t think Jesus ever intended for our walk to be that comfortable.” Even Jesus declared that He wants us to have life abundantly. Certainly there are some struggles we must face in His name, but our journey should be just as blessed.

    • Kenya, I think this is where you and I disagree. A person can be physically sick, and still be blessed! You can be poor and blessed! To live in Christ is a blesing, no matter the state of my physical, earthly body. The joy of Christ is having him in my life, a friend who will never leave or forsake me. That joy is not dependent upon being in perfect health, having a nice bank account, or even being in a place of physical safety.

      It is NOT a shame to find joy and blessing, even in poverty, sickness, or when things don’t go as we like. I urge you to find passages that indicate that God designed for us to live an easy life, physical, financial, or otherwise. If things were too easy on us, how could we rely on God as the source of our strength?

      • hi Cynthia, love your comments. i’m late as usual in my blog reading here, but i wanted to add to your comment. Jesus said, “in this world, you will have much tribulation, but be of good cheer because I have overcome the world.” i think this verse is in line with what you’re saying, and i agree. I think people don’t understand God’s “joy” isn’t like the world’s interpretation of “joy.” we’re told to be content in whatever state we find ourselves in. doesn’t mean we stay in that state and never progress, but while we’re there, relax, enjoy, and prepare for our coming out of that state, hopefully to a better place.

  4. Good post, Andre! I especially like the last part about how church isn’t about OUR comfort. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that our main goal should be to provide an environment where those who DON’T know Christ can feel comfort coming in the door and in accepting Christ, but a discomfort when it comes to living in Christ. As followers, we have to count the costs…not try to live a secured and sheltered life.

  5. To add to your list and to follow up on what Ellena said, Church ISN’T about being prosperous. It’s not about how we Christians “deserve” good things – health, wealth, happiness, etc. You watch all these “money cometh to me now” preachers and assume that’s all life in Christ is about.

    This is just what I needed to hear today. I just had a talk with my sister-in-law this morning about our common struggle with these issues. Thanks for your wise words. If more people, and churches, held onto these truths, the faith community would look very different. Perhaps… more attractive to those who are seeking, even?!

  6. I agree with much of what you have posted here. In fact, I think it translates pretty well onto descriptions of other religious traditions as well. Although the sanctuary one, as you describe it would fit more with the “a cornered market of righteousness.” when I think of a house of worship as a shelter from the world, I guess I think of it more along the lines of it being a place where you can focus on GOD/Jesus etc. without the distractions of secular life… not that the world is so vile/going to hell in a handbasket/bringing on the second coming tomorrow/ or whatever (although there are a lot of people who hold to this idea so strongly it stunts their development. but that daily life sometimes causes you to lose focus.

    You have to do what you feel/believe is right, and so while you may not have a church home right now, it’s better to wander for a while until you find one than to be in a place that makes you annoyed, angry etc. But just remember though, no place is perfect, So you may never find church that fits all of your criteria.

  7. i know the church building serves a purpose, but i always believe the emphasis should be to establish that personal, intimate relationship with Jesus. when that focus is in place, everything else falls into place, so to speak–our relationships, how we treat people, where we worship, etc. God orders our steps, if we allow Him to. i’ve been under the same ministry church for about 10 yrs, but for the past several years, haven’t been there much. however, my relationship with God is strong and He leads me where i need to be, sometimes during the weekday to a Bible study or prayer service, etc., and not always at my church, to feed me what i need. When it’s time for you to be placed in a building, God will direct you to that place. in the meantime, to me, you’re still a part of the Body of Christ. i think a person can worship at a church, and still be a part of it, without necessarily being a member, although some churches will have a rule about that too. when the time is right Andre, to join a particular church, you’ll know.

Leave a Reply

