7 comments on “Billy Jean John

  1. Hey Dre,
    Great Post! I’m sorry to do this, but I hate John Edwards. Mostly because I once supported him. Here are some direct quotes from the man who was “Unlike the usual hypocrites espousing “family values” from their lofty perches while secretly messing around on their wives, Edwards didn’t build a platform based on moral piety.”

    Invoking Jesus;
    I think that Jesus would be disappointed in our ignoring the plight of those around us who are suffering and our focus on our own selfish short-term needs. I think he would be appalled, actually.”

    On his marriage;
    “I’m in love with one woman. I’ve been in love with one woman for 31 years.”

    On the accusations;
    “I’ve been in love with the same woman for 30-plus years… and as anybody who’s been around us knows, she’s an extraordinary human being, warm, loving, beautiful, sexy and as good a person as I have ever known. So the story’s just false.”

    On the baby;
    “I would welcome participating in a paternity test. Be happy to participate in one. I know that it’s not possible that this child could be mine because of the timing of events, so I know it’s not possible. Happy to take a paternity test, and would love to see it happen.”

    On himself;
    ” I started to believe that I was special and became increasingly egocentric and narcissistic.”

    NO one runs for office on moral depravity. They all run on a platform based on moral piety. John pitched himself as a family man with christian values who championed the poor man. All the while padding his pockets, building a home bigger than your average Walmart and banging his mistress. He was, and is, a complete hypocrite who doesn’t deserve the defense of a fine writer such as yourself.

  2. I don’t know, I am sort of “meh” about it. I think I would be pissed off he had been the Democratic nominee because we would probably have a president Mccain and VP Sarah Palin (enough to give me nightmares).
    But since he’s not, and his wife has forgiven him… what else is there to say? His political career is in the toilet (or is it?) and he was rich to begin with. He will survive. In the end I hope they make the most of the time they have left with his wife, and that the mistress doesn’t end up being step-mom though (that would be weird… well, not that weird I guess).

    • It’s funny. You’re not the first person to have a “meh” moment about the John Edwards affair. Some of my coworkers had the same type of response. But when I brought up Kwame Kilpatrick, the mood QUICKLY changed. Suddenly, it became about a no good dog exploiting his power, etc. etc., etc. True, Kwame has embarrassed the city of Detroit and my entire state, but he certainly wasn’t the first or the last.

      This isn’t a personal shot at your and your position, gazelledusahara. It just goes to show that some people are beyond forgiveness while others may not be.

      • Geekgirl, I actually agree with gazelledusahara. John Edwards was not only a failured as a Presidential candidate, but he has virtually NOT influence with Democrats. Kilpatrick, on the other hand, ran the entire city. And was allowed to over and over again by the population.

  3. There are “two Americas” alright. One America which doesn’t mess around on their wives and one which does.

  4. Andre, you are not the father!

    you have a birthday this month, or have had a birthday this month, so HAPPY BIRTHDAY, or HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!

Leave a Reply

