10 comments on “My “Transformation”

  1. OK, once again you’ve gone out on the deep end. Why are you making such a big deal about this?! They are ROBOTS for pete’s sake!

    • The problem is, Josh, this movie attributes uniquely human characteristics to non-human entities (the robots). They are given a certain kind of humanity and – as such – some level of racial identity. I didn’t really notice that with the Decepticons who were more homogenous. But the Autobots certainly exhibited animated characteristics…including the ones that have upset some people.

  2. Hey Dre,
    I must be getting more racially sensitive (despite my recent bad-taste joke). I turned to my wife in the middle of the movie and said, “Man, black people aren’t going to like this.” The depiction of the twins was off the charts IMO. It wasn’t so much the broken english or the gold tooth. It was the stupidity. These are robots. Why would anyone design a robot to be dumb? I realize it was an attempt at comedy relief, and no matter who your portraying someone is going to be offended. (Try watching “My Name is Earl” from a white person’s perspective) But why did the robots have to be ANY culture?? Maybe we’re just taking this a little too seriously, Dre, but I just wanted you to know you weren’t alone. I was having a WTF moment too. BTW, I would give the movie three out of five, for what it’s worth.

    • In the scheme of things, there are much more pressing issues in the world, no doubt about it. But I echo your inquiry: why couldn’t the robots just be robots? If the writers were trying to give the Autobots more likability and more humanity, it could have been accomplished without the cultural references.

  3. Robot twins or no robot twins, Michael Bay is retarded. Props to him for ruining yet another franchise from my childhood.

    -n

    • Right. I pray to God he doesn’t butcher a Nightmare on Elm Street. Wes Craven already did when he kept making sequels.

  4. Dre, you yourself continuously preach the idea that black people don’t all act and think the same way. So naturally you shouldn’t expect for every single black person to agree with you. All you can do is encourage people to see things from a different perspective. You can’t make them do so. So the frustration you feel (while natural) should be expected. Basically, I’m telling you not to give up. You can’t win ’em all.

    Honestly, I have not seen the movie and I’m not a fan of Transformers (I’m a girl! :)). So I can’t really comment on the film. But I agree that black people have been one of Hollywood’s targets since day one.

  5. Me and babies daddy saw this “movie”, and we had the same thoughts. I’m surprised that the robots were not appropriately named “Willie” and “Tyrone”. But mostly we hated the movie as a whole (and I hate using the word “hate”). My head hurt after and I was illl. Several times throughout the movie I begged to leave. There are several time I had absolutely no idea what was going on. I never thought that I could ever be too old for a movie. If you are 10-14 year old boy I highly recommend this movie to you.

Leave a Reply

