12 comments on “Just say “No” to Slavery

  1. His response basically states that he refuses to back the use of this issue as a bargaining chip. And while I agree w/ him on this aspect (even knowing that current American politics is a “game” of trade-offs), Rep King has a looooong history of wackness.

    “Regardless of the intentions behind his dissent however, at the end of the day his antics will still add yet another log to the fire already blazing between Republicans and Black Americans.”

    Then somebody needs to be educated as to how the game is really played. Obama made a massive point during his campaign about changing how politics was played, much of which has come to light as nothing but BS (this coming from somebody faaaaar more liberal than the President himself mind you). For anybody to call this guy…as wacko as he probably is…racist based on the fact that he doesn’t want to play the same game that Obama won millions over for saying that he wouldn’t play either is just plain silly.

    -n

  2. Nic,

    Thanks for hipping me to his statement. But now that I’ve read it and understand his intentions, I’m taking back the benefits of the doubt I gave him.

    So, is this dude is so pissed about Christian heritage not being universally accepted that he would willingly vote against recognizing uncontroverted history? Boy.

    Had he said something criticizing the House for taking their eye off important matters directly affecting each of us RIGHT NOW (i.e. the economy), I would’ve given the dude a handshake. But reading his bull*** of a statement confirmed what I initially thought: the guy’s off his rocker.

    Still, like you, I’m not going to call his actions racist. I don’t think they are. Dumb and pointless, maybe. But not racist.

  3. Hey Dre,
    I agree with Nic, this is just another example of using an issue as an omibus to sneek in another, completely unrelated issue. This unfortunately happens all the time on The Hill. For example, I put up a Bill condemning child abuse, then you attach a provision giving $4 trillion to build a huge monument to George W. Bush. If anyone votes against it, I paint them as being FOR abusing children. Oddly enough, this is always O.K. with the people who want their issue snuck in and always wrong and deceitful when someone else does it. Once again, total hypocrisy on display.

    • I guess my issue with opposing this particular quid pro quo legislation is that the item “snuck in” had to do with a belief not universally accepted. To date, the debate is STILL on the table of whether or not this is indeed a Christian nation; if it was founded on Christian beliefs or if its Christian now. I mean, I’m a Christian myself and I’m against plastering it all over the place in an attempt to ‘mark’ our territory.

      This is just another instance of a right-winger so pro-Jesus/anti-everything else, that he loses sight of the more important things.

      Actually, I think the entire House lost sight of the MOST IMPORTANT things…but that’s not the argument King had.

      • I don’t like the idea of labeling ourselves as a “Christian Nation” simply because it does sound exclusionary. However, rewriting history to devalue the contribution of Christians to our nation is equally offensive to me. Do we really have to go so far to the extreme? I can’t tell you how many arguments I have had over our Founding Fathers. It seems everyone only wants to acknowledge the statements made by them that supports their pre-drawn conclusion. Finding statements by Franklin or Jefferson or Mason supporting their belief in God is easy, but all the internet sites devote ALL their attention to a few statements and dismiss the rest. It’s impossible to have a discussion with a closed mind. That Christians contributed greatly to the creation of this country is irrefutable IMO, and so is the fact that the Founding Fathers were mostly Dieists who feared a national religion. Fearing a national religion is a far cry from being an Atheist. I consider myself a Dieist, not an Atheist, and share their fear of a national religion. It’s interesting to me that at the same time we’re acknowledging one group’s contribution, we’re erasing anothers.

      • Hip Con, I’ll accept the argument is being made that Christianity contributed to this nation’s history. That’s different than just saying outright that this is a Christian nation, which is the idea stamping Christian language all over everything accomplishes. In the same vein, I don’t expect people to say this nation was solely built on the backs of slaves. Our country today is sum of the blood, sweat, and tears from African slaves, Chinese slaves, Irish indentured servants, Native Americans, etc., etc., etc. Memorials should be erected for each of them.

  4. “Regardless of the intentions behind his dissent however, at the end of the day his antics will still add yet another log to the fire already blazing between Republicans and Black Americans.”

    The bottom line says it all. I think the Republicans who DID support the iniative carried Rep. King, so all is not lost. But the more Republicans do this kind of thing, the worse off they’ll be with minorities.

  5. Here’s the part of King’s statement that didn’t get included:

    “I refuse to vote for something that honors slaves until I get to own a few first.”

  6. So I guess that abstaining from the vote was too much for Rep. King. Way to make Republicans look even worse than they already look! Idiot.

  7. Andre, like you I wouldn’t actually call him a racist. But I also see where the dumb part is this story lies (and perhaps intolerant). It’s common for certain members of the GOP to reflexively oppose anything that challenges their limited ideas of morality and patriotism. Of all the Republicans who jumped on board, this guy decides to try to make a statement. So much that did for him.

  8. One day, Republicans will get it. Perhaps once the Democratic base of minorities hits 100% even. I guess the GOP doesn’t realize that their base of southern rednecks is shrinking day by day.

Leave a Reply

