7 comments on “(Mis)Adventures in Babysitting

  1. Hey Dre,
    I already was feeling a little off-center this morning and this post damn near made me toss my frosted flakes. I’ll try my best to cheer everyone up a little anyway. According to the Bureau of Justice, these sort of crimes are finally starting to trend down after rising throughout the 1990’s. There are some interesting stats on the page if anyone is interested. http://www.ojp.gov/bjs/homicide/children.htm Sometimes I wonder where all the insanity is coming from and why nearly all crimes against children, parents, teachers and damn near any authority figure rose so much through the 80’s and 90’s. One thing seems certain, we were definately doing something horribly wrong and it appears whatever it was, we are now starting to go the other way.

  2. I really do not know what to say. All this makes me feel all the more how we all need the life changing power of God’s grace……..although I also wonder where God’s love and grace is in the lives of some Christian leaders like the one in your previous post.

  3. This is sick. This guy is sick. I don’t know what else to say beyond this. His reasoning is so ridiculously absurd, I don’t even know where to begin with.

    There are (obviously) some mental stability/health issues going on here. But craziness like this goes on in so many places. sigh.

  4. My question is a rather simple one: WHERE is the father? If he is deceased, we certainly can’t lay blame on him. But if young Da-Von’s father is alive and just so happens to be out of the picture, that’s a doggone shame. I hate to rely on any conservative talking points here, but the the disintegration of the family (especially in the black community) is a motivator for stories like this.

    • Amen, K.C.,
      Fathers are way too happy to be out of the picture and mothers are way to happy to have them out. That makes the kids, unfortunately, easy prey for people like Arnold Ross.

  5. What was the lady thinking?! I would NEVER leave child land in the hands of somebody who would make Al Capone envious. The only reason that would make sense to allow this kid to babysit a child is if his past is unknown. Don’t get me wrong. I’m all for allowing people to redeem themselves if they’ve done wrong (how many times has God’s grace covered us when WE screwed up?). But this is insane. A little boy is dead because his mother may not have did a little background investigation.

Leave a Reply

