11 comments on “The Official Presidential Fruit

  1. What made this story so laughable was when this fool said he didn’t know watermelon references to black people were offensive. Where, then, did the idea of using them in reference to Obama come from?! I tell you: I gotta laugh to keep from getting angry.

    By the way Dre, I think you’re being too nice to the Post. That piece of crap cartoon had racism written all over it.

  2. I expect this same level of outrage the next time a black comedian uses fried chicken and watermelon jokes.

  3. Josh,

    I expect this same level of outrage the next time a black comedian uses fried chicken and watermelon jokes.

    I’m wondering if you’ve been following many of my posts where I bring black people to bear for their behavior. Just to recap, here are a few of my posts. Check out this post, and this post, and this post, and this post, and this post, and this post, and this post.

    Now take that back.

  4. The Mayor’s “apology”:

    I am deeply embarrassed in receiving your email, and for any harm or hurt that it may have caused. It was poor judgement on my part and was never intended to be offensive to Ms. Price, your company or anyone in the African American Community. I have exchanged emails with Ms. Price in the past.

    I can fully understand your concerns and comments. Please be advised that I have left a voice mail for Ms. Price and will also be sending her a separate email with my apology. You can be assured that I will not allow this to happen again. I in no way was representing the City of Los Alamitos, or my role as a council member in sending this out and it went via my private business email. That doesn’t justify the fact that it was sent, however, we gratefully appreciate the contributions that your company makes to our community and I wish to publically apologize to anyone within the firm or organization that may have been offended.

    I am truly sorry.

    Dean Grose

    Forget your not wanting to be black Andre. I don’t want to be white any more.

  5. Cynthia said: What made this story so laughable was when this fool said he didn’t know watermelon references to black people were offensive. Where, then, did the idea of using them in reference to Obama come from?”

    Exactly. It is precisely the same excuse provided by those who created the Obama-Bucks, as Andre noted. It’s amazing that some can remain blissfully unaware of their own BS.

    But in Josh’s defense, is this not the very same blog where most of those that left comments staunchly defended (hypocritically, one might argue) Oprah’s recent mocking of Asians? Please, @ least be consistent.

    -n

  6. Again, I’ll say: I hope you all get as outraged the next time a black comedian makes jokes about fried chicken and watermelon. For that matter, I’ll await your anger the next time a black person says a stereotypical and offensive thing about another race.

  7. “I hope you all get as outraged the next time a black comedian makes jokes about fried chicken and watermelon.”

    Josh, please get a clue. Just because you might make fun of your family doesn’t mean everybody else can or should.

Leave a Reply

