11 comments on “Inauguration: The Day After

  1. Nice post, sir Andre. You hit every major point I was thinking. While the election and the inauguration are important to the history of the country, they are not the signatures. There is more work to be done!

  2. Not suprising, but another great post Andre!. I didn’t have the opportunity to make it to the inauguration. But friends and family who did attend said some of the same things you hinted to in this post. From what I hear there was definitely excitement in the air. Even watching it on television gave me a sense of excitement. But I also wonder how those same people will respond over the next four — possibly eight — years. I often wonder if accountability will be there for our next President. The boos from the crowd DEFINITELY told the story for the President before him. LOL!

  3. “The boos from the crowd DEFINITELY told the story for the President before him. LOL!”

    I caught that on MSNBC. Andre, was the booing as loud there as it was on TV?

  4. “Secondly, I think it is crucial that we not get so effusively sentimental about Obama’s victory that we forget to be critical of his performance. The overwhelming issues facing this nation are only temporarily absolved by this euphoric moment. Poverty and economic hardships, violence, racism, homophobia, anti-intellectualism, and a host of other issues continue to be staples in the American structure.”

    I know you’re ready to put on your criticism hat Andre, but how can you make these issues about how well Obama performs? While some things can be fixed with a piece of legislation, some things not even Obama can fix. I know he’s America’s annointed Savior and all, but aren’t you expecting too much from him…especially when the man JUST got sworn in (for the second time. LOL!)?

  5. @ GA girl: “But I also wonder how those same people will respond over the next four — possibly eight — years. I often wonder if accountability will be there for our next President.

    I’m not sure. I normally don’t like conceding points to the right, but I have a feeling that a large part of Obama’s Amen Corner – especially black folks – will offer neglect to offer the President a critical eye. “For good or for bad…” they’ll say. And while that’s good on one front, it makes President Obama seemingly untouchable. We’ve seen what happens when that’s the case with Presidents.

    @ JJM: “I caught that on MSNBC. Andre, was the booing as loud there as it was on TV?

    The booing was pretty loud in my area. But after checking out a clip from MSNBC, apparently a chant of “Na na na na, Na na na na. Hey, hey, hey, goodbye!” got started in the audience as well. Some people like Chris Matthews (of all people) said it was done in bad form. But what do you expect really?!

    @ Megan: I understand your point, but I don’t think I implied (at least not intentionally) that Obama’s magic hand would make many of the social and behavior ills vanish. Legislation can’t stop a person from having racist thoughts, for example.

    What I AM saying, however, is that as President he must get things done especially at the expense of shaking up the status quo. The ultimate point is this post was to challenge people NOT to let up on him or any other elected officials. The minute we do, they’ll let up.

  6. Josh, for once you and I actually agree on something. Now, to be fair: Obama certainly isn’t the first person to spend a ridiculous amount on an inauguration. And you also have to consider a few things: (1) most of the funds were privately donated and (2) the event drew almost five times as many people as Bush’s 2004 event.

    Still, I think that any leader who signs off on extravagent parties while his/her country is suffering deserves to get called out. For the parties, Obama could have easily had finger foods, lemon cake, and called it a day.

    This is a prime example of what I’m talking about when I say we need to hold our leaders – even those as adored as Obama – accountable.

  7. Josh/Andre, it costs more to get a GOOD president. When you pay less, you get cheaper quality.

  8. Seriously. It this the new discussion?! I was prepared to comment about how great this piece was. But when I read some of the comments,

    Now I absolutely agree on one thing: when the folks in the media attacked Bush for spending excessive money on his festivities, they should also be critical of Obama.

    But…

    It’s clearly obvious that security and crowd control had a large part to do with the high price tag. Even before getting sworn in, Obama had received a record number of death threats. upon by supporters and detractors. I’d want a break out of security costs. If two million people ever came to see Bush, you could expect the $$$ spent to be pretty similar.

    The parties were a bit over the top, yes. But most of them were not even on the government’s dime. Most were sponsored by private donors. But even if it weren’t the case, are we so poor that we can’t enjoy one of the biggest moments in history even for one day? It is one extraordinary day in our lives. Let’s bask in it for a moment and not diminish its value. Besides all of that, I’m sure the businesses in DC aren’t exactly feeling the sting of having 2 million people plus giving them business.

  9. About the oath: Chief Justice John Roberts was the first to stumble on the oath. I think he should have had a script instead of relying on memory. But I don’t think the misstep was that big of a deal. Obama recovered smoothly, as he always does.

    Nice post. Your closing words remind me of a favorite Obama quote.

  10. Kenya, I’m feeling you on the security and crowd control; though I’m not convinced – after dealing with those crowds – that money was well spent. But security was definitely jam packed. Snipers on rooftops, secret service men all around the mall. The millions spent in that regard were worth every penny.

    @ Deb: Thanks for the clarification about C.J. Roberts. When I watching it on the Jumbotron, Roberts’ mic wasn’t as loud as Obama’s (not sure if that was an accident or if I was just paying more attention to Obama). When I originally wrote this post, it was before I saw the viral clips of it. From what I saw in person, it looked like Obama.

    Thanks again for making the correction.

    Awesome quote, by the way. Thanks for blessing me with that.

Leave a Reply

