12 comments on “Your Friendly, Neighborhood President-Elect

  1. Oh yeah, I agree. Obama in Spidey is just fucking cool. Very awesome. I don’t even like comic books like that and I’m completely overly excited for this!

  2. Actually, I think it’s pretty sweet too. It might be a little early in the game for featuring a president who hasn’t even been sworn in yet, but it’s certain not going “too far”.

  3. I’ve got an old Marvel around here somewhere w/ Bush in it…and I vaguely recall being told a story of JFK in an issue of Superman that was literally in transit to shops when he was assassinated, & thus it was distributed posthumously. I bet if you went back to the heyday of comics, you’d find the various Presidents of the time featured in a number of rags.

    -n

  4. Yep nic, you’re absolutely correct. JFK was in Superman as was Reagan. Nixon was in Captain America also. Presidents have been immortalized in comic books quite frequently. Granted, most of them were actually inaugurated first…

  5. When I first heard about this, I shook my head. People are entitled to have some fun, I guess. I’m hoping that this god-like worship of Obama dies down after January 20.

  6. @ Lorraine: I think I’d be a little more geeked about this if the plot wasn’t so corny. The Chamelon?! Fa real…?!

    @ J. Alex: This may be a bit premature because people are allowing the historic relevance to eclipse the work that Obama hasn’t even done yet. That’s a bit overly-obsessive to me.

    @ Nic/KC: Thanks for nuggets of info. I wasn’t aware that there were more than just the two presidents in comic books. It puts Obama’s appearance in perspective. Well, SOME perspective anyway…

    @ Deb: What’s interesting to me is that I’m not sure the hysteria will die down for a while. I almost got jumped in an alley when I criticized some of Obama’s cabinet picks.

    @ Greg: So I take it that you plan on sleeping outside of your local comic book dealer to get a copy?

  7. Andre: I realize that it’s unlikely that the hysteria will die down soon. But this chick can hope. I believe you almost got jumped when you criticized some of Obama’s cabinet picks. I’ve decided not to go there – at least publicly. For me, it’s not worth it!

    I’m glad you’ve put into words what a lot of us are feeling. You’re a superhero in your own right. 😉

  8. I’m glad you’ve put into words what a lot of us are feeling. You’re a superhero in your own right.

    Thank you, Deb.

    Does that make me SpokesMan?

    *Ducking all the rotten tomatoes thrown on stage*

Leave a Reply

