9 comments on “Locked out: The Story of Roland Burris

  1. I’m not sure where you’re going w/ the minority angle, as race has absolutely nothing to do w/ this, but to answer your question, no, I would refuse the appointment.

    Burris may be a great guy/politician…I don’t know a thing about him to be honest…however, he loses a bit of the respect that automatically comes w/ the position of Senator because of the circumstances in which he accepted it. Now, in time it may be proven that Blagojevich is innocent of the charges pending (although I really, really doubt it), but there is no doubt that under the current circumstances (Legislative workings within Illinois to prevent any nomination, calls by just about everybody in the public sphere, as well as the political sphere, including the President-elect, for Blagojevich to step down, etc.) Burris had to be aware of himself potentially entering into an ethical gray-area. He’s not wrong for accepting it, & may even deserve to be a Senator, but under the circumstances, I don’t think he, nor anybody else for that matter, should have.

    Perhaps I’m giving Politicians too much credit concerning ethics, but if it was Politician Nic put into the same position, I would respectfully decline.

    -n

  2. Actually nic, race has tons to do with this. Harry Reid has been crucified in some circles because of the perception that he’s deliberately stonewalling black candidates considered for the Senate seat. Bobby Rush is tossing out expressions like “Don’t lynch Burris…” I’ve even heard some people indicate that this has become an issue of civil rights. I happen to disagree with all of the aforementioned affirmations, but that’s not to say they’re not out there…especially considering that the blackest person in the Senate is Daniel Akaka.

    Still, if the proverbial glass ceiling is to be broken by a black person, it needs to be a person elected by the people of Illinois. This Governer Appointee nonsense should go away. Besides, in this case anybody associated with Wacko-jevich is automatically (and perhaps, unfairly) marred. I suspect that even notable men like Nelson Mandela or Desmond Tutu would have the same fate befall them had Blago appointed them. Burris should have known this and should have NEVER accepted the nomination.

  3. Dre,

    You know what’s most interesting/disturbing? Your friends over at the Congressional Black Caucus are actually backing this fool. Yep. The same CBC who just complained that President-Elect Obama doesn’t have enough black people in his cabinet are now defending the person handpicked by a sociopath.

  4. I could give a damn who Democrats appoint or don’t appoint, elect or don’t elect, all I know is that I hate it when black folks get dragged into the middle of issues that have absolutely nothing to do with black identity. Before this little brouhaha broke out, I had never heard of any of these people in my life, and I suspect 99% of black America had never heard of any of them either. And I’m fairly certain 99.9% of black folks would have preferred to keep it that way.

  5. Dre, I actually agree with nic on this one. This issue should have nothing to do with race.

  6. KC, for the aforementioned reasons, I would maintain that race does has a lot to do with this mess. But I never once said that it SHOULD be involved. Frankly, race does NOT belong in this discussion.

    If one felt so inclined, legitimate arguments can be made from a constitutional law stand point, but arguments involving race don’t belong at the table, even when people like Bobby Rush have tried to slide it in. I concede to the notion that the Senate is indeed in major need of a face lift, but I would NEVER advocate somebody like Burris being the one to break the glass ceiling. If anything, Burris lost my respect the moment he and his crew tried to integrate race and God into the discussion in the first place. The same can be said of Blago; who I think intentionally chose Burris for a very racialized purpose.

  7. @ Malik: Sorry I missed your comments.

    I only knew bits and pieces about Burris; mostly from a friend of mine who lived in the Chicago area. But honestly, It took this lame and tepid appointment by Wackojevich for me to peer into his life a little more. But for the general public, I suspect that knowledge about a person’s past (political, social, or otherwise) is trumped by issues of race and God (the minute Burris said the “Lord told him to run” – or something to that effect – I knew he had a lot of black folks sold). The unfortunate consequence of this is that people will become so riled up by the racial ramifications of this story that the issue of qualification and merit will become a moot point.

  8. No matter what kind of credentials Burris may bring to table (but honestly, I never heard of him until now), he was a fool for accepting a nomination from a person under scrutiny. This has nothing to do with race. It has everything to do with stupidity.

Leave a Reply

