11 comments on “Give Thanks!

  1. Very beautiful post, Mr. Andre. I can appreciate you sharing your Thanksgiving thoughts. Let me just say how much of a pleasure it is to follow your work and your thoughts. Allowing me to peer a little deeper into some of the more hurtful and shameful parts of your past only gives me more inspiration. Thank YOU for being a blessing.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. Hi Andre. This was a very moving post, let me say. I had no idea that you went through so many difficult things. I never figured you as the spoiled, privileged kid, but I would’ve never imagined some of the things you mentioned about yourself had you not said them. Thanks for sharing that.

    First off, I don’t think any less of you because of what you did. In fact, I applaud you for being able to openly admit your shortcomings. It’s not easy to open up that way. None of us is immune to sin. We’ve all done wrong, and we all have our demons. It just so happens that many of us don’t get caught. But you were able to use your getting caught as a testimony to the goodness of God, other people, and – believe it or not – yourself. That was a very touching story.

    Secondly, this post reminded me of the importance of staying connected to people and realizing the effect that I can have on others. I would hate to imagine that I abandoned somebody who needed me. There’s no telling what people will do if they feel lonely enough. Some turn to gangs. Others to drugs and alcohol. Others still will do the unimaginable. I can tell that you’re the kind of person who has enough resolve to endure feelings of lonliness, but I’m afraid for people who can’t. Heaven help us if we become anything like other people so quick to leave vulnerable people behind. I know how easy it can be to lose touch with others. Even I haven’t spent as much time with my loved ones because of the demands of work and school. But I also realize that we should find a balance. As determined as we might be for ourselves, we need to be as determined for others. Thanks for the reminder!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  3. By the way, I love the tribute to your family. You’re very blessed to have such great people in your life. Don’t ever lose sight of that! 🙂

  4. What a powerful post, Andre! You are a strong, positive influence on more people than you’ll ever realize. Have a restful and blessed holiday weekend.

  5. hi Andre, what a beautiful and thoughtful post. we all have so much to be thankful for, even through our woes. i’ve had some serious health scares this year, my family is so divided right now, but blogging has been my outlet in times of loneliness and dispair. it’s been nice knowing you; thanks for sharing a little more of yourself here.

  6. @ Joanne: Thanks for blessing me with your comments. Even in the anonymity of the Internet (at least, I think it’s often anonymous), it can be a bit difficult exposing oneself. But thank you for receiving this post without condemnation. It means a lot.

    @ Megan: This goes double for you. Thanks for offering your ear (or eyes…) and your encouragement.

    @ Deb: Thanks kindly. I’m humbled.

    @ Richard: Sorry, Rich. I can’t take the credit for this one. The Miami Mass Choir does a song with that very title and those very lyrics. It’s a great song which often helps me put my life in perspective in relationship to other people’s lives.

    @ Sylvia: Please allow me to extend my prayers to you and your family. This has been a pretty tough year on a lot of people. But I’m confident that God’s healing hand will touch afflicted lives. Yours is no exception.

  7. well Hello Handsome ,
    I really do not know how I missed this post , I try to read you faithfully LOL.
    I have to say ,I have been reading and enjoying you My Green-eyed handsome man since almost the time you started your first blog and enjoy everything you write . I am not even sure if you will be reading this as it is a past post and life moves on so quickly why should it be any diffenrent mixed within the stars of cyber ville! I was drawn to this post and could not stop reading , it is a more personal one and as reading I felt it was truly from your heart,that BIG Beautiful wonderful heart that you have ,It was wonderful to read ,I will not tell you elegantly and with awe inspiring review how well it is constructed and smoothly reads as this is all true ,but to be inside, your thoughts ,head ,life and feel your sharing ,well Andre ,

    “it truly is wonderful I’m around brilliant, interesting, and unique people whom I deeply respect ”

    your words could not be more fitting to describe how I feel about YOU friend , Thank you for sharing .

  8. @ Greeny: Thanks sincerely for the kind words. I’m humbled.

    The feeling is definitely mutual.

Leave a Reply

