7 comments on “Thank ya Massa!

  1. I hurt with you, my friend. I am none to fond of Rap, but, I say that if you are that ignant, Rap, but, please don’t comment. It pains me that a lot of our youth are so uneducated. Some of it can be blamed on the lack of quality education that we have been tossed. This, however, is no one’s fault but his own. The pity of it all? He doesn’t even know it. Peace.

  2. Maybe he just needs a chance to clarify. I could see a comment like that in the context of “through all things God works for the good of those who love Him”. IOW, as deplorable as slavery was he’s grateful to be an American. Maybe?

  3. I’m hurt and disturbed by this young man’s comments. But it ultimately reminds us that we need to do more to educate our young people about our history and how we got to the place we are today. I’m not angry at his comments, I feel sympathy. I feel bad that he doesn’t have the opportunity/motivation to learn more about history and chooses to instead stay content with ignorance and materialism. This is a silent plea for the rest of us to step to the plate and be the mentors these kids need. Being overly critical and judgemental may make us feel like we’re in a better position. But it’s not doing much to make up for the lack of education these children have. Its time for us to be apart of the solution!

  4. I may be in the minority here, but I actually think his statement makes sense. On the surface, I can see how these comments were bad. He did come across as ignorant and unimformed with his comments. But there is another message here worth examining. God has a way of using things meant for ill to work in our favor. Had slavery not happened, black people would most likely be in Africa dealing with the difficult situations currently plaguing the continent. Compared to the suffering going on there, living in “the land of opportunity” is a huge step up.

  5. @ Richard: Welcome to my site and to this discussion.

    Maybe he just needs a chance to clarify.

    I read transcripts from an interview Soulja Boy did to offer clarification on his comments. He indicated that he wasn’t taking the interview seriously based on a similar line of questioning another rapper received before him. In that light, I’ll give him a pass for at least not being completely serious about his comments. Nevertheless, he DID make the tasteless comments; joking or not. That’s the problem I think.

    @ Shannon:

    God has a way of using things meant for ill to work in our favor. Had slavery not happened, black people would most likely be in Africa dealing with the difficult situations currently plaguing the continent. Compared to the suffering going on there, living in “the land of opportunity” is a huge step up.

    A couple of things here:

    (1) The so-called deplorable conditions of many countries in Africa stem from centuries of oppressive colonialism. I’m not thanking anybody for that. My thanks goes to the people who struggled, died, or endured; not to the people who perpetrated this monstrosity.

    (2) It’s hard to imagine what Africa would have been like had it not been for colonialism. Historians following ancient African societies marveled at how advanced, cultured, and civilized many countries were. Even the Greeks (who thought the entire region was inferior to them) had the utmost reverence for Africans.

    As I said before, the idea that Africans were savage beasts is a lie. Even today, the idea that every African nation is plagued with famine, poverty, war, and aggression is a lie. Don’t believe the hype.

  6. Hey Dre,
    I thought only ignorant white supremists said things like that. Who would have thought? He looks so smart in the picture.

  7. Andre, Thanks for the welcome!

    I do see your point. I guess my point was similar to Shannon’s, although it obviously doesn’t apply in Soulja Boy’s case, there is still thanks to be given, due only to God for the gifts we’ve received, that people (like Oprah Winfrey) are able to use their gifts to enrich Africa, regardless of how or why it’s necessary.

Leave a Reply

