7 comments on “I Voted Today!

  1. In Georgia, we were allowed to vote early. But leave it up to me now to do so. Instead, I wound up waiting about two hours in line. Still, this is an experience I will NEVER forget. The wait was worth it all.

  2. “Unlike most Christians, I don’t believe that life starts at the moment of conception. I think the “life” for which we are called to be committed includes a central nervous system, neurological/cognitive development, functioning organs, etc. “

    when a woman finds out she’s pregnant, it’s because (i guess she had a positive pregnancy test result) “life” has been registered in her, which means a real “live” being/person(s) is/are now “living” on the inside of her; therefore, “life” is now living on the inside of her. is it fully developed yet? no, but the baby is at his/her/their beginning cycle of life, so in essence, that fetus is alive, though not fully developed, but alive nonetheless..

  3. …the baby is at his/her/their beginning cycle of life, so in essence, that fetus is alive, though not fully developed, but alive nonetheless.

    I won’t argue with people who hold this position. In fact, many prominent scientists also support this idea. It’s just that I don’t. I think certain properties need to be in line before we start recognizing a life; things outside of mere cellular arrangements (things like an actual heartbeat, breaths, etc.). A kid doesn’t become a college student just he wears a backpack and walks around a campus. He has to apply, be admitted, register for classes and pay tuition. Those are the “properties” of college student. Likewise, I don’t think life is life until it involves a heart, lungs, a brain, a spine, nerves, etc.

  4. that’s spooky. i don’t even think there’s a comparison there, and i’m so glad my mother didn’t get rid of me because she thought i wasn’t a “life.” i still say once you know you’re pregnant, the baby is alive, otherwise, it wouldn’t register a positive test result, but everyone is entitled to his/her opinion.

  5. ..i’m so glad my mother didn’t get rid of me because she thought i wasn’t a ‘life.’

    The problem with that statement is that it suggests (whether or not it was your intention) that people unlike your mother or my mother are somehow evil monsters. I simply don’t see it that way.

    I don’t know much about birth science, but based on some of what I read, fetuses can’t feel pain until the ending months of pregnancy. With the absense of complete organs and nerves, I don’t see why testing with embryos or – in a different vein – abortion are wrong based on the amount of suffering the “life” does NOT experience. To be sure, I’m not a fan of embryonic stem cell research or abortion in the least bit. But if both means lead to potentially better end results, I can accept them.

    This debate will continue until we’ve gone off to Glory.

  6. This debate will continue until we’ve gone off to Glory.

    After further review, maybe not. By that time, the only thing we’ll be fighting over is how your Heavenly leaves keep blowing into my Heavenly yard.

Leave a Reply

