7 comments on “Mommy Dearest

  1. Hey Dre,
    I’m going to have to disagree with you a little here.
    1) First, if the Republicans wanted to overturn Roe v Wade, it would have been done a long time ago. There were more Republican appointees on the S.C. on the day of Roe v Wade and it has NEVER been otherwise since. Right now the score is 7 to 2 in favor of Rep appointees. Second, no anti-abortion person needs Roe v Wade at all. To assume that it somehow gives them a “choice” makes no sense to me. Third, if teaching abstinence is a failure because her child got pregnant, then all birth-control must be a complete failure because none of it works 100%.
    2) ” So where does getting married out of obligation fit into this paradigm? ” It’s called accepting responsibility. Since it’s their fault that a child was born, they have an obligation to give that child as good a life as they can. Obviously they believe the best way they can do that is committing themselves to a being a family.
    3) I must have missed the part where conservatives said it was O.K, good, or proper. But I will agree they take too many swipes at other people without looking at their own failings.
    4) Actually, I make the exact same argument to conservatives. So, I’m in complete agreement with you on that one.
    5) I have never bought this argument (sorry, Dre). The only thing kids really need is love. By your logic every child born during the Depression or in poor countries should be aborted. My wife and I raised 3 kids and never made more than 15k a year until after my oldest was 10. This is nothing more than an excuse by people who refuse to do without for the sake of their kids. Lot’s of great kids come out of very poor families and a lot of shitty ones come out of wealthy families. No kid is going to starve in this country and any kid can get schooling.

    Sorry to be so disagreeable. You know I’m pro-choice, but I see abortion for what it usually is. A selfish act.

  2. @ Sylvia: The most unfortunate part is that Bristol and Levi (I think that’s his name) are being dragged into this mean game because her mom can’t see the pitfalls that lie when we try to tell other people what to do with their lives.

    As the Williams brothers sang: “Sweep around your own front door before you sweep around mine…”

    Thanks for your comments.

    @ Hippie: “I’m going to have to disagree with you a little here.

    Yeah? Well you suck.

    On the real, I suspect that a once GOP controlled Congress and a currently majority Conservative SC haven’t done anything with Roe up to this point because they like to use their opposition of it to get a free ride politically. As long as they have the legs to make this an issue, I count on them using it as a momentum builder. I’m curious to see if a McCain/Palin ticket would actually push for an overturn.

    i…f teaching abstinence is a failure because her child got pregnant, then all birth-control must be a complete failure because none of it works 100%.

    I don’t see this as a matter of playing the odds. I completely understand that preventative methods don’t yield 100% return. I don’t think that’s the issue. The real issue is that a teenage pregnancy took place right down the hall from her; in her household; with her child. That tends to damage ones credibility.

    …It’s called accepting responsibility.

    “Responsibility” comes in the shape of taking care of the kid; not from getting married. This chick is 17; hardly in a position to make a sound, rational decision on making a lifetime commitment of marriage on top of another lifetime commitment of raising a child. But I’m not about to tell her what she can and can’t do with her life. But I will say that if the greater society allows this to be a standard of ‘the sanctity of marriage’, it’s about time to reassess what is sacred and what isn’t.

    …I must have missed the part where conservatives said it was O.K, good, or proper.

    Conservatives definitely aren’t shouting from the roofs, but evangelicals are far more forgiving with one of their own: http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/09/01/palin.evangelicals/index.html

    …The only thing kids really need is love.

    I’ve seen the price of diapers, formula, and day care. Love doesn’t pay the bills, dude.

    Thanks for your comments.

  3. Hey Dre,
    “Yeah? Well you suck.”
    That’s the second time someone said that to me this week. Am I getting less courteous in my opinions?
    On the S.C.-Absolutely. And they will never overturn it or even try. So why does the left use the issue for fearmongering?
    “That tends to damage ones credibility.” I don’t understand why. Why does my credibility on an issue depend on my kids having the same stand? I can only teach as best I can and hope they learn. Are you saying every kid in the poor side of town that steals or murders is the fault of their parents?
    “Responsibility” comes in the shape of taking care of the kid; not from getting married.”
    Getting married is the part where you publicly accept that responsibility. I’ve seen this “responsibility” without marriage. It’s a joke. The fathers act like if they even show up for a birthday or send a child support payment they are a “good father” Please. I’ve raised kids, it takes a lot more than that. Our standard for what counts as a father gets lower every day. The destruction of the institute of marriage is part of what’s lowering that standard.
    “I’ve seen the price of diapers, formula, and day care. Love doesn’t pay the bills, dude.”
    Again Dre, these are just excuses for selfishness. My wife and I used cloth diapers. The selfish will say it’s too much work when they simply don’t want to do the extra work because it reduces their time to party or go out or enjoy some “me time”.
    My wife breast fed. But that might make the women breasts less appealing. Again a selfish motive. Day care.-Strange that we did without it for millinium and kids turned out fine. My kids never spent ONE DAY in day care yet somehow we managed. My wife stayed home and watched the kids herself. (A radical concept I’ll admit) I managed to pay the bills anyway with no help from anyone. Did we work hard? You bet. But our kids came before our clothes, our car, our “me time”, our tans, our cell phones, our hair. It’s a matter of priorities. It’s a sin to say you should do without for the sake of your children anymore. Everyone acts like it’s “things” that will make your children’s life better, but they are mistaken. It’s a stable family that will lead to well-adjusted kids. As Chris Rock once said, “If your kid calls his mom Pam and his gramma Mom….he’s going to prison.” And he didn’t even address the screwed up definition of a “father’ that we have anymore.

  4. Hippie, I’m with you in spirit. This post wasn’t designed to give poor and teenage parents a badge of honor. But you should be careful not to use the same lines that most GOPers do. You’re basically saying “Well, I made it so there’s no reason you shouldn’t…” Contrary to what this nation claims, we’re not all equal. Methodologies that one person can employ to raise a child – for instance – don’t necessarily work for everybody else. In a perfect world, a person works hard and they’re good to go. But the reality on the ground is often much different.

    Again, I’m not shifting responsibility from knuckleheads who keep popping out babies and sponging off “the system”. But I’m not going to pretend that one person’s story of success is easily transferrable to the next person.

  5. The situation involving the Palins is none of our business. If Bristol possesses the nuclear codes or is responsible for the mortgage meltdown, maybe we can turn our attention to her. This election should be ABOUT THE ISSUES. Nothing more, nothing less. All we need to focus on is walking into the booth and choosing the candidate we want. This has nothing to do with Palin family values. This is not about her children or their boy/girlfriends. This is about who would make the best leader for America.

  6. Pingback: This weekend in politics « The Unmitigated Word

Leave a Reply

