5 comments on “Stephanie Tubbs-Jones (1949-2008)

  1. Hello there!

    She was a phenomenal black woman, indeed!

    May her loving soul rest in peace with the Lord.

    I hope that everyone who reads about this very sad news story realizes that aneurysms CAN BE detected by many medical tests BEFORE they rupture.

    Aneurysms do not just suddenly occur out of the blue. I hope that perhaps one black woman’s life will be spared because she read about this tragedy and made sure that she went online to research all of the risk factors of aneurysms.

    Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!
    Lisa

  2. While I did not always agree wiith Rep. Tubbs-Jones (especially with her support of Sen. Clinton), you can’t deny the imprint she left. If only the rest of Congress could follow suit and stand up for those to whom they are beholden.

    RIP STJ!

  3. Having been a former resident of Cleveland and hating it there, I couldn’t find too many good qualities to sing about. But STJ was one of the city’s shining stars. She was such an amazing person who brought class and dignity to an otherwise embarassing city.

    On a related note, thank you Lisa for the information about aneurysms. Hopefully, STJ’s death (as sad as it is) will raise enough awareness so her tragic death won’t be in vain.

  4. @ Lisa: I just read a report on Fox News (I know. Sorry…) suggesting that Tubbs-Jones may not have had warning of her aneurysm. I’m not sure how true that is (I mean, this is Fox News after all). But if it is true, that only provides further impetus to get examined. AIDS and diabetes aren’t the only silent killers out there.

    Thanks for stopping by my joint. I’ve been by your place a few times and I loved it. You’re an amazing writing. Hope you don’t mind, but I’m adding your link to my blogroll.

    Blessings be yours.

    @ Cyn: Even though I am not exactly a fan of Hillspawn, I can still appreciate STJ standing up for her even if it wasn’t a directly reflective of what black people – especially in Cleveland- may have wanted. Depending on who you talk to, following your heart and going against consensus can either be commendable or stubborn. I prefer to think the former of STJ.

    @ Kev: My sister was also a former resident of Cleveland. Like you, she also hated the city. Also like you she had a deep and profound respect for STJ. As a student at Cleveland State, she had the opportunity to interview Rep. Tubbs-Jones during a voter registration drive. From there, she was inducted into the STJ fan club. I was a fan of STJ’s for other reasons. But a fan nonetheless.

    And while we’re on embarassing cities: dude, I’m from Flint. Plus, Detroit is not too far away from that. Trust me when I say I know a thing or two about embarassing cities in America.

  5. For me, I was disappointed to see STJ being to Hillary what Fonzworth was to Puffy, but I’d say that political career ultimately outstaged that endorsement. Even though the 110th session of Congress has to go down as one of the worst in history, STJ did her job with dignity, grace, class, and steadfastness. She would have easily won a sixth term.

Leave a Reply

