10 comments on “Discovering God

  1. “…sits on top of the prelude by Bach” Was that not the best line ever? I watched this clip along with a few others featuring Bobby McFerrin. I tell you what: I had no idea he was so talented. I also absolutely adored Ms. Agnew’s singing. It was an angelic as a singer can produce.

  2. We used to play a beautiful rendition of this song at Christmastime when I went to Clark. I agree that it’s beautiful (although I don’t know about “moved-in-the-spirit” Maybe it’s because I knew the lyrical content:

    Hail Mary,
    full of grace,
    the Lord is with thee;
    blessed art thou among women,
    and blessed is the fruit of thy womb,
    Jesus.
    Holy Mary,
    Mother of God,
    pray for us sinners,
    now and at the hour of our death.
    Amen.

  3. Well that changes things! Those blasphemous heathens; worshiping Mary! Aaagh.

    On the real, thanks for bit. After I posted, I found out on Wikipedia that it was an intercessory prayer for Mary (for the folks who may get why that’s an issue; our faith teaches us that Jesus is the intercessory; not Mary). Still, minus the lyrical content, I still love the song; the sound, the melody.

    I suppose that represents the ultimate complex in music. Being stirred and captivated by the music without directly subscribing to the lyrical content.

  4. It’s funny you say that: because the same thing can apply to rap, alternative, or other genres that produce questionable lyrics that have a certain auditory satisfaction. I think Ave Maria; sung properly; could move an audience even if the lyrics translated to something you could find in a Klan manual.

    That was a joke. But you get the point.

  5. I get you KC. I remember seeing Luciano Pavarotti in New York a few years back. When he sang “Nessun Dorma”, there wasn’t a dry eye in the building (except maybe for mine, since I’m a straight up G.) Yet, I’d venture a guess and say that about 90% of the people in room didn’t understand a single word of what he sang.

    Music is one of those things were you can get lost in God even when your basic abilities of perception are thrown to the side.

  6. now if i didn’t still see my name on your blogroll Mr. Andre, i’d think you were trying to ditch me because i’ve been on your blog leaving comments, and i was wondering why there had been no new post. then i just saw a comment you left on Greeneys blog, clicked on the link and it brought me here. for some strange reason, when i click on your blog in my favorites list, it kept taking me to the post you did about Obama being featured on the Ebony magazine. boy, i feel like i’ve been in the twilight zone or someplace. anyway, i’m back to earth and glad i found the right post.

    i’ve always liked this song, but never knew the meaning either until now. there’s so much to music (lucifer/satan was the minister of music in Heaven) because praise thru music is one of the ways that help to usher us in God’s presence. that’s why i love my contemporary worship music–it ministers to my spirit.

  7. Uh…Sylv, you’re confusing me about the links issue. For me to absolutely LOVE the Twilight Zone with all my being, I’m not trying to live it out on my blog. While I’m at it, perhaps I should also find a less ominous looking template… 🙂

    But more to the point of the post: my former pastor would always stress to the choir and the musicians the importantance of us “leading in the worship.” For a while I thought he was just blowing hot air. But I see how he — and you — hit it. God is always present. But sometimes it takes expressions like music (sometimes it’s not even of the “church” variety) for us to break down the barriers we put in place preventing us from coming into God’s presence.

  8. your last poiint Andre about what your pastor was saying makes me think of how in the OT, the praisers and worshippers always led the battles. that was setting the stage by ushering in the presence and Spirit of God, so when the warriors came forth, the battle was won a lot easier than it would have been if God hadn’t been present. who knew Ave Maria could provoke so much thought.?!

Leave a Reply

