21 comments on “Testicular fortitude

  1. Getting attacked by Jesse Jackson. If this doesn’t draw the white vote to Sen. Obama, nothing will.

  2. Rev. Jackson’s relevancy to anything began to slide years ago. He’s just angry that he has no control over Obama, was unable to get HALF the presidential legitimacy that Obama has, nor will he have any place in an Obama administration. This angers him immensely and he’s just showing his colors.

  3. “Rev. Jackson’s relevancy to anything began to slide years ago”

    Precisely. Outside of a failed attempt at President, tax audits, and “illegitimate” children (I hate using that term, but you know what I mean), what has Rev. Jackson done over the years? Meanwhile, Obama stands to win support of the more whites than Jackson EVER could and possibly win the White House.

    Beware the green-eyed monster Sen. Obama. No offense Andre. 🙂

  4. Cyn, now that I think about it: maybe Jesse Jackson having a love child made him internalize Obama’s message about parental responsibility. Hmmm. Good point.

    Don’t worry about the green-eyed reference. I get the joke. I happen to LOVE Othello. And as much as I try to, I can’t get myself to hate Iago. The dude was gangster!

  5. He’s an old head. He lead the way, way back in the day. He gets a pass, at least from me. His statement, indeed, was the epitome of the words that would have us in the streets if it came from a Caucasian. I don’t know what he was thinking. Oh – he wasn’t. Likewise – why would anyone, in this day and age, set foot on a FOX set without triple-checking the mikes? As a vet, he should have known better. I take offense at his son hanging him out to dry as he did. His dad’s words may not have been liked, but, come on – he’s still family and we need not do family like that. Peace.

  6. First: IMO, Jesse’s the one who “talks down to Black People” I had the dishonor of hearing him “preach” at my old church several years ago. All he did was appease the Black audience to receive money for his rainbow coalition; which I still don’t know what purpose this serves to this very moment. How can “rev” Jesse say something like that when (IMO) he’s done NOTHING but explioit Blacks with his rythmic speech to collect money from Black churches?????

  7. Freedom,

    Despite how clearly annoyed I am with Jesse Jackson, I feel you in giving him somewhat of a pass. Minus the castration bit, he had somewhat of a point. Many black folks in America saw Obama’s message of parental responsibility as “talking down to them.” I happen to disagree with that; but the differences in opinions with black folks only goes to show that — as I’ve been saying all along — we are NOT monolithic. Anyway, to the point: when Sen. Obama lashed out at missing black fathers during his Father’s Day speech/sermon/pontification, he could have generalized the message to all of America. But when many black folks saw that as an attack on black Americans specificially, they got incensed. They saw it as an attempt to appeal to whites more than an attempt to raise awareness in the “black community.” Besides all of that, many liberals have been upset for a while with Obama’s support of faith-based initiatives. So to that end, I don’t see anything wrong with Jackson’s comments opposing Obama’s positions. Where I have a hard time getting down is when he does his cutting testicles bit like he’s apart of Tony Soprano’s wrecking crew or something.

    Then again, who can really be suprised by the language/antics of black ministers anymore…?

  8. Jos, you mean to tell me that you weren’t moved to tears when Jesse came to the greater? *snickers*

    In all truthification (*snickers again*): I completely agree with your assessment of the good Rev’rend. Ironically, he’s attacking Sen. Obama for being in a bully pulpit when he’s made a career (AND a hefty fortune) doing the exact same thing. Jesse is a pimp; plain and simple.

  9. Dre, I think Cynthia makes a good point. If the Obama camp wants to get more white voters, nothing accomplishes that more than having beef with one of the largest sparkplugs whites have seen. I don’t know how Obama feels about this personally, but I’m sure the camp was excited to see that a potential Achilles Heel in Jesse Jackson was not on their side.

  10. Being a big supporter of personal responsibility, I can definitely see where Rev. Jackson is coming from. Sen. Obama is running for President of the United States, not President of Black America. His message about families should have been geared toward ALL of America. All it did was show white America that he had no problem going tough on blacks as well. We hear enough of the personal responsibility message coming from others. We don’t need to hear it from a presidential candidate. Still, Jackson was VERY, VERY wrong in his delivery.

  11. Andre, I agree that Rev. Jackson (I used “Rev.” loosely) was way off base with his comment. But I’m not forgiving of the WHY behind his comments as most people are on this board. I don’t see Obama as being some uppity negro who is trying to show white people that he can be tough on his own (HALF of his own, by the way). I see him speaking to an issue that is near and dear to his heart: not having a father in his life. The “bully pulprit” from which he allegedly spoke came from personal experience with not having his father around. For that reason alone, I see nothing wrong with takin’ it to brothas who are abandoning their children. Just for added flavor, maybe he should also toss in a bit about these dumb girls having babies at 16 so they can trap men, have baby showers, and get free stuff from the government. I don’t think that Jackson’s crude comment or his point was justified.

  12. Kenya,

    The problem with Obama’s “pontificating” were not adequately addressed by Rev. Jackson. But fortunately, some of us are not as — how should I put it — off as Jesse is. So I’ll tell you what was wrong with Obama’s speech.

    You’ll never see Obama get up and do a speech to poor whites telling them about personal responsibility. He doesn’t tell them to get off their butts, put those cans of beer away, and go find a job. The minute that he does, he’s lost that electorate. Instead, he promises them opportunities, jobs, and all the other typical politican-type things. But with black people, it’s a completely different story. Instead of offering us those same things, he says “Y’all gotta do better.”

    That’s why I think that Jesse wasn’t completely off base. He’s just “off”. 🙂

  13. *SIGH*

    Are we getting on Barack for being “real” or for not being politically correct. If we’re truly honest with ourselves, does the problem of personal responsibility affect Whites or Blacks more?

    IMO, that’s alomst the equivilant of speaking to Japanese families about the value of education. True, not EVERY Japanese person has an education; but is that really a source of a problem for them? Barack spoke what was real and honest….bought time!

    On another note…I really really really can’t stand Jesse and he absolutely dosent’ get a pass from me!

  14. Joslyn,

    The problem with chalking this all up exclusively to personal responsibility is that it insults people who are trying to come up while being denied a legitimate opportunity. If a man has a child, gets arrested for a crime (and likely given an less equal sentence than a white person), serves his time, and gets released back into society; he is left in the position of trying to find a good job (not available for ex-cons most of the time) while also paying for a home, a car, bills, AND child support. So even if he is taking personal responsibility it becomes a moot point if there are larger issues to deal with. How does this relate to Sen. Obama and Jesse Jackson? Its simple: instead of beating up on black missing fathers (let’s be real, he wasn’t talking to anybody but black folks with this message), maybe he should focus on programs or government aid to help fathers play an active role in their childrens’ lives. Criticizing people is easy. How to fix problems is where the real challenge lies.

  15. Can somebody PLEASE explain what Jesse Jackson was doing on Fox News in the first place?! I’m sure he knows about that station, the nuts who work for that station, and the loons who mindlessly subscribe to that nonsense. What was he trying to accomplish by going on there?

  16. @ KC: “If the Obama camp wants to get more white voters, nothing accomplishes that more than having beef with one of the largest sparkplugs whites have seen.

    I’m not so sure how accurate that is. Recall, it was Jesse that started this “beef.” While I’d agree that the Obama camp might be likely to distance itself from the Jacksons, Sharptons, and Clintons of the world, I don’t think this whole thing was somehow staged to get white voters.

    @ Joanne: “We hear enough of the personal responsibility message coming from others. We don’t need to hear it from a presidential candidate.

    Maybe. But you’ve gotta admit that the message has a lot more impact coming from the potentially next POTUS than it does from a D. West type of motivational speaker.

    @ Kenya: “Just for added flavor, maybe he should also toss in a bit about these dumb girls having babies at 16 so they can trap men, have baby showers, and get free stuff from the government.

    That speech might have to wait until Mother’s Day. Still, I agree. It definitely takes two to tango.

    @ Cyn: “You’ll never see Obama get up and do a speech to poor whites telling them about personal responsibility. He doesn’t tell them to get off their butts, put those cans of beer away, and go find a job. The minute that he does, he’s lost that electorate.

    I actually agree with this to an extent. So I think if Obama plans to address issues like personal responsibilty any more during this campaign it should be in a general context. That way, black folks won’t feel like they’re being unfairly scolded just so Obama can appeal whites. Oppositely, he won’t have to risk losing the white electorate by slamming them.

    @ Jos: “Are we getting on Barack for being “real” or for not being politically correct. If we’re truly honest with ourselves, does the problem of personal responsibility affect Whites or Blacks more?

    Another great point. Similar to the black judge who lectured black defendants in his court, I think we are the best position to correct the problems that WE face.

    @ Megan: “Can somebody PLEASE explain what Jesse Jackson was doing on Fox News in the first place?!

    Beats me. On top of that, I’m sure that whenever a liberally minded person comes on Fixed Noise, they bug the entire building. When you’re behind enemy lines, you keep silent.

  17. This campaign season has shown the true colors of lots of people. We’ve seen the dirty side of Hillary. We’ve seen the dirty side of Bill. Now we’re seeing the dirty side of Jesse. It’s clear that they are all jealous of Obama’s success up to this point. Unfortunately for them, they’ve allowed their jealousy to surface through their comments and their actions.

  18. It’s a bad day when Obama not only has to worry about the GOP, racists, and Hillary supporters but also the black elite. Obama is a bigger person than I am.

  19. I am really curious as to what would have made Jesse utter such terrorist thoughts. As I have said, he gets a pass, but, I really wonder. To me, that takes a lot of anger.

    I get the idea that votes are gold. I get the idea that white folks don’t need to be scared away from Obama. However, I am pretty much distressed that Obama is not saying things that Black Americana wants to hear. I want to hear that ghetto education will be made better. I want to hear racial profiling will become outlawed, as well as quite a few other things. He is a (part)Black man and as such, there should be something on the table for Black people, and I don’t see it. DON’T GET ME WRONG! I don’t believe that there is a bigger Obama fan in the U.S. than I am. Whatever takes place between now and November, he WILL get my vote. I’m just saying that I’m an angry Black man and as such, I want the politician to cater to me. I vote. I speak out to others. What you do for me, gets you support from others. Appease me. Peace.

Leave a Reply

