6 comments on “How to Get God to Notice You

  1. This is a great post and that picture of the woman is very poignant. She certainly stands out in the picture. I agree with your thoughts in the post and I think it is reflected in the following passage;
    “ You do not delight in sacrifice or I would bring it; you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart. O god you will not dispise. (David’s Psalm 51:16-17)

  2. Hey Dre,

    Great post! This story has always been one of my favorites as it reminds me that God is faithful and true to His Word, that He will ignore us at out weakest point. Sometimes we feel like we have to impress God with our works when it’s the OTHER things that get His attention.

  3. Could you imagine what would happen today if a lady came to one of those mega churches with two pennies? She would’ve been laughed at, talked about, and probably chastised. I’m glad God looks at the heart and not at the outside like men.

    • Good point, Saved. But beyond that (and worst of all), I think most of us would’ve completely ignored this woman altogether. Whenever we (the church) gets in this big fundraising mood, we pay closer attention to the substantive donations, not the scraps. “We gotta pay the bills! We gotta pay on the mortgage! The pastor’s fund is getting low! We need a new organ! We need those new pews and hymnals! We need money and we need it now!” Two little pennies would’ve been ignored in the scheme of things. But you’re ultimately right: it’s a good thing God looks at our hearts and not our bank accounts.

  4. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I
    think I would never understand. It seems too complex
    and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your
    next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

